Blast from the Past: Postcards from No Man’s Land

Blast from the Past is a weekly post I write that focuses on a book I read long before I ever had a blog about books. While I didn’t “book blog” until a couple of years ago, I’ve kept a reading journal of sorts for about 6 years. Blast from the Past is essentially just my way of digitalizing my old book journals–and reminding me what I thought of books long since read. I think it will be a fun way to look at how my reading selections have changed and what I like most in the books I read.

|

December 7, 2005
Well, I just finished Postcards from No Man’s Land. I just began 2 days ago and could hardly put it down. I’ve ruined it with dog ears for pages with quotes.

I’ve never read anything set in Holland or with many Dutch words. I know Schiphol has most signs in English because of my trip to Edinburgh and the KLM airport {meaning the airport in Amsterdam}.

The pronunciations seem difficult. This book really made me want to visit Amsterdam and to learn most history of the Dutch in general.

But now I’m very sad. Because the story is over 😦 And I want more from it. O well, that’s how some books are I suppose.

“Always easy to be wise when you’re only an onlooker.” (p39)

“You have to know your own truth and stick to it. And never despair. Never give up. There’s always hope.” (p42)

“Some people say falling in love is a kind of madness whenever it happens. If that’s so, all I can say is I would rather be mad than sane.” (p43)

“Sometimes you live more life in an hour than in most weeks, and sometimes it is possible to live more in a few weeks than in all the rest of your life.” (p50)

“Does bravery need a cause? There can be none without.” (p128)

“Nothing festers like a passion concealed.” (p144)

“It was a pleasant spot…the sort of place where lovers plan their future and old men dream of the past.” (p174)

“…love that is real is always dangerous. And more dangerous to the one who gives it than to the ones who receives it.” (p200)

“Hate has a long memory.” (p203)

“New love is like a star, it radiates energy. Young love shared is a firmament. Doubt is not available.” (p222)

“It isn’t wise to give yourself away so quickly or so easily.” (p258)

“Why is it that young people so often think that old people cannot deal with life as well as they? Or that they cannot bear the truth any longer?” (p301)

{Pretty much all I remember from this book is that an old lady had a terminal illness. And the issue of euthanasia was in my mind the entire time.}

Leave a Reply

