Harriet the Spy by Louise Fitzhugh

TitleHarriet the Spy
Author: Louise Fitzhugh
Narrator: Anne Bobby
Genre: kid’s lit
ISBN: 9780739338995
Length: 7 hours
Published: 1964
Source: public library
Rating: 3/5
Resolutions/Challenges: none

Reason for Reading: In the 1990s, Nickelodeon came out with a movie, Harriet the Spy. And I loved it as a kid. So I thought I’d see how the book was 🙂

Summary (from Goodreads):

Meet Harriet M. Welsch — one of the most unforgettable, funniest characters in children’s literature. Harriet is a girl with only one ambition in life: to be a spy. She works hard at it — filling her secret notebook with observations about her parents, friends, and neighbors. But when her classmates find her notebook and read her mean comments about them, Harriet finds herself shunned by everyone. How can she put her spying talents to good use and make her friends like her again?

My Thoughts: There isn’t a whole lot to say in regards to this book. It is simple, as much kid fiction goes. And it is pretty much exactly the film. No meaningful differences. And since I will remember the story from the film well, I will, ergo, remember the book . It gets a 3/5 because, even if I enjoy the film, the story isn’t all that wonderful.

But I know has growing up with a diary can get you in trouble. I, myself, started keeping a diary at the age of 11 and because of some innocent “swear” words and three sisters who could read, I got in trouble 😦 But not to the magnitude of Harriet’s dilemma with all her friends learning some bad stuff she said about them.

My Thoughts on Audiobook Format: I liked Bobby’s narration. She did a smart pre-teen voice very well. I definitely prefer an adult doing a child’s voice over an actual child reading. That would probably annoy me a little. And, oddly enough, I think her voice was a lot like Michelle Trachtenberg’s, who played Harriet in the film.

One thought on “Harriet the Spy by Louise Fitzhugh

  1. TBM says:

    I loved this movie.

Leave a Reply

