Blast from the Past: The Historian


October 26, 2005
I had started Angels and Demons and Tara Road, but both didn’t interest me enough, so now I’m onto The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova. It’s good so far, considering I’ve only finished 4 chapters. It seems like it may be something like DaVinci Code but more history. It sounds like it’s centered around the search for Dracula. Kinda stupid, I know, but I love a good mystery. Sherlock Holmes, anyone?

November 9, 2005
Well, I’m still reading The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova. I know, I know…I’ve been reading it for over 2 weeks now, but I have a little more than 100 pages left, and I plan on finishing it tonight. See, I finally got to Part 3 yesterday and that was when it started getting really interesting, so I can’t wait to finish it.

It is getting really good, and I really wanna know if Dracula is alive, in the book of course. I know that Vlad Dracula was never a vampire, but I don’t know if it was a real person. He might be, but he may be just Bram Stoker’s fictional character.

After I finish this, I plan on starting the real Dracula by Bram Stoker, I think, because I’m so into the mood of a good scare.

November 14, 2005
“The past is very useful, but only for what it can teach us about the present.” Dracula, The Historian

“You must go on with your life, because you are young and it is in front of you.” The Historian

|

Blast from the Past is a weekly post I write that focuses on a book I read long before I ever had a blog about books. While I didn’t “book blog” until a couple of years ago, I’ve kept a reading journal of sorts for about 6 years. Blast from the Past is essentially just my way of digitalizing my old book journals–and reminding me what I thought of books long since read. I think it will be a fun way to look at how my reading selections have changed and what I like most in the books I read.

One thought on “Blast from the Past: The Historian

  1. One of my favorite book *ever* No other way to say it, I love this book SO MUCH!

Leave a Reply

