Blast from the Past: Forgotten Fire


October 16, 2005
So, I’m currently reading Forgotten Fire by Adam Bagdasarian…This book just slaps me in the face because of its bluntness and honesty. The book is supposed to be based on true events in Bagdasarian’s great-uncle’s life. That’s why it just makes me sick, to think that this could really happen. It’s the kind of book that is like Night by Wiesel. Not about the Jewish Holocaust, but rather about the Armenian Holocaust {pretty sure I just meant Armenian genocide}. Now, as much as I love history, I don’t see how I never learned about the Armenian Holocaust {genocide}. But, I guess circa 1915 is taken up with the Russian Revolution and almost WWI. When I am a world history teacher though, I will definitely touch on this subject because we can’t forget the 1.5 million Armenians just as we can’t forget the 6 million Jews.

It makes me feel so lucky to have the life I do. I don’t want to be stupid and think I will always have an easy life like I have, because that’s what Vahan thought, and look what happened to him. But I have realized something about the names in the book. The surnames of the Armenians mentioned all end in “-ian”, just like of bunch of the surnames of authors who write about this subject. I’m not saying that ALL Armenian names end that way, but they could. I like the sound of the first names though.

{On a side note, I ended this particular entry with saying that my cousin was leaving for basic training for the US Army and that I hoped he “exits the army in 5 years safe and sound and experienced.” Well, it’s almost 6 years later and the path he chosen has meant that he will be in the military for many more years. He’s actually overseas right now, but I have no idea where. Just know that he’ll be home in January 2012.}

October 26, 2005
So, Forgotten Fire was amazingly good, but sad because it was based on such true events. I was so happy that Vahan found Oskina afterwards. I was puzzled by that because he made it sound like none of Vahan’s siblings lived and I couldn’t figure out how he could be a great-uncle if he had none.

|

Blast from the Past is a weekly post I write that focuses on a book I read long before I ever had a blog about books. While I didn’t “book blog” until a couple of years ago, I’ve kept a reading journal of sorts for about 6 years. Blast from the Past is essentially just my way of digitalizing my old book journals–and reminding me what I thought of books long since read. I think it will be a fun way to look at how my reading selections have changed and what I like most in the books I read.

One thought on “Blast from the Past: Forgotten Fire

  1. TBM says:

    I’ll have to check this book out. Like you, I don’t know much about the subject, and yet it shouldn’t be forgotten.

Leave a Reply

