Blast from the Past: Rebel Angels

Blast from the Past is a weekly post I write that focuses on a book I read long before I ever had a blog about books. While I didn’t “book blog” until a couple of years ago, I’ve kept a reading journal of sorts for about 6 years. Blast from the Past is essentially just my way of digitalizing my old book journals–and reminding me what I thought of books long since read. I think it will be a fun way to look at how my reading selections have changed and what I like most in the books I read.

|

October 11, 2005
Rebel Angels by Libba Bray: ahhh… 🙂 What an amazing fantasy story. Gemma never ceases to amaze me. I love reading about other realms and magic, although my mom usually has a conniption whenever I do because it’s un-Christian. But I don’t believe in what I’m reading, because I know it’s just a story. But since I know it’s not true, I love to ponder over whether it could ever happen. It’s so interesting! Like String Theory! Ah, thank you Mr. H for letting use watch those movies in Physics; the possibility of parallel universes makes me so happy to think of something new. N is having fun with Angels and Demons which he has recommended to me. If he thinks it’s good, it must really be great.

October 13, 2005
“Sometimes your place is not something you find, but something you have when you need it.”

“Travel opens your mind as few other things do. It is its own form of hypnotism, and I am forever under its spell.” (I like this quote because it tells why it’s important to travel everywhere.)

“You cannot waver in your dedication to anything. What you want can be yours. But you must first know what it is you want.”

Alright then. I have succeeded in finishing Rebel Angels and I absolutely love God for putting Libba Bray on the earth. The two books that make up this series of Gemma Doyle are both amazing in the fantasy aspect. I love fantasy and it just makes me feel intellectual to think about other realms, like the String Theorists think about parallel universes just out of our grasp.

I did know something about this book; well, I predicted it to be so anyways. As soon as Gemma, Felicity, and Ann accused Miss McCleethy of being Circe, I knew it couldn’t be her. So I though of who it could be, that they’d never suspect, and who they might take into the realms with them not thinking of the outcome. And I came up with Miss Moore. Come the ending chapters of the book, I read that McCleethy was there to help and Moore was, in fact, the evil one.

The book’s ending, with Gemma trying to get Kartik, Felicity, Ann, etc. to be accepted into the Order so they could all go into the realms, made me happy because I thought of there possibly being a third book. And I really hope there is, although it probably won’t be for awhile, since this one just came out two months ago. I’m crossing my fingers…

{It’s interesting because I remember reading these first two books in this series, but I honestly don’t remember a thing about them.}

Leave a Reply

