Blast from the Past: Northanger Abbey (my first reading)

Blast from the Past is a weekly post I write that focuses on a book I read long before I ever had a blog about books. While I didn’t “book blog” until a couple of years ago, I’ve kept a reading journal of sorts for about 6 years. Blast from the Past is essentially just my way of digitalizing my old book journals–and reminding me what I thought of books long since read. I think it will be a fun way to look at how my reading selections have changed and what I like most in the books I read.

|

October 4, 2005
Since just last school year, I have read 46 books and 13404 pages. Not including the book I’m currently working my way through: Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen. I like this story because it’s more unlike Emma and that just put me to sleep. In the past few years, Emma was the only book that I had to stop reading because I just couldn’t do it {I did read it eventually}. But I like Northanger Abbey so far, seeing as I’m only on the tenth chapter. I can just see Catherine love Mr. Tilney but be wanted by Mr. Thorpe. I would hope that she ends up with the man that she likes, but seeing as this is 19th century England, I don’t think she’ll have much of a choice, unfortunately.

Well, I like this book, and I’m happy with it so far.

October 11, 2005
So I finished Northanger Abbey last Thursday after school and didn’t read all weekend until Sunday night. That’s when I started Rebel Angels, the sequel to A Great and Terrible Beauty which I read last year.

Northanger Abbey was an amazing book. I was so happy to get into Austen again. This was her first novel, that I’ve read, that wasn’t dull in ANY part. Even if P&P is my favorite Jane Austen, it was dull for a time. The adventures that Catherine went on were really fun. Although, I really wanted her to just punch that one Mr. Thorpe guy. What an ass…And of course, I got into my people-shouldn’t-marry-just-for-money thinking cap. I hate that that was ever a means of deciding who was proper to marry and who wasn’t. Grrr…But that’s life; c’est la vie!

Leave a Reply

