Blast from the Past: Treasure Island

Blast from the Past is a weekly post I write that focuses on a book I read long before I ever had a blog about books. While I didn’t “book blog” until a couple of years ago, I’ve kept a reading journal of sorts for about 6 years. Blast from the Past is essentially just my way of digitalizing my old book journals–and reminding me what I thought of books long since read. I think it will be a fun way to look at how my reading selections have changed and what I like most in the books I read.

|

September 28, 2005
So I’m reading Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson at the moment. It makes me happy because I love a good adventure book. Now, I’ve seen a movie version of the book and I really like it. Sure, maybe that was because it was Muppet Treasure Island and I love the Muppet movies, but the story made me happy.

I like Hawkins’ narration because it’s like you’re experiencing the same things as he is. I don’t like that narration (whatever it is, 1st or 3rd) where you’re being told the story {That’s 3rd person 🙂 }. For some reason, maybe because I have an imagination, I like thinking that I’m going through the same stuff.

Well, I’m almost finished with Part II and I wanna get through Part II by the end of the night, because it’s getting to the good part.

P.S. I like the pictures. They make me laugh. I actually got this version because of the pictures. Yes, I am a senior in high school and I want pictures!

October 4, 2005
Well, I finished Treasure Island and it was fun. I liked the more descriptive detail that the book had that was unseen in the movie. I did imagine the people to look like what they had in the movie. Well, except for Captain Smollet, Mr. Arrow, and Squire Trelawney and the doctor, I suppose, since they were all Muppets in the movie…

Leave a Reply

