Blast from the Past: Time Traveler’s Wife

Blast from the Past is a weekly post I write that focuses on a book I read long before I ever had a blog about books. While I didn’t “book blog” until a couple of years ago, I’ve kept a reading journal of sorts for about 6 years. Blast from the Past is essentially just my way of digitalizing my old book journals–and reminding me what I thought of books long since read. I think it will be a fun way to look at how my reading selections have changed and what I like most in the books I read.

|

September 15, 2005
I have…moved on to The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger. I really like it, and the whole concept of time traveling really boggles my mind. (Like the String Theory we’re learning about in Physics: the philosophical way to explain EVERYTHING.) {Which is interesting, because string theory is in no way philosophical, but very scientific 🙂 } I have often thought about if I could travel back in time, I would want to visit the ’20s. I don’t know why, but I always felt that that style and life just kind of suited me. I think it’d be interesting, too, to go ahead in time, just to see how long it takes before the world lives like the Jetsons. I’ve only been reading the book for a little more than a day, and I’m already 100 pages into it. It’s a little odd how the chapters/sections are set up and I have to be careful to read it because otherwise I don’t know how old Henry and Clare are. I can definitely tell that this will be an amazing book.

September 21, 2005
I’m still finishing The Time Traveler’s Wife. It is really, really good. I can’t think of how to describe what happens in it, because the whole chrono-displacement thing that Henry goes through is mind boggling. I say that it’s about Clare and Henry and they met in Clare’s past, but Henry’s future. Right, it doesn’t make sense really because you’re just like, “What?!” But I think that if you don’t really think about it and just read, it makes sense to you. Well, I have about 100 pages left to read, and I really wanna finish it soon. So I’m gonna go now and I’ll be reading forever with the exceptions of eating and going to NR’s {Nick Rathburn} visitation. #2 {suicide} for our graduating class, ’06. (I shouldn’t have to read my classmate’s obituaries at the age of 18.)

{I don’t remember specifics about my thoughts upon finishing this book. But I do remember really loving it. Oh, and I highly recommend the film version with Rachel McAdams and Eric Bana.}

3 thoughts on “Blast from the Past: Time Traveler’s Wife

  1. Jillian ♣ says:

    I LOVED this book!! But, I did not care for the movie. I might have if I hadn’t read the book first. 🙂

    • Kristie says:

      There was a significant amount of time between when I read the book and when the movie came out, so I enjoyed the movie. From what I remembered of the book, I liked it. But usually if I read a book and closely thereafter see the movie, I often can’t overcome the comparison factor and I usually don’t like the movie (especially if I liked the book).

  2. Jinny says:

    Love love love this book! The ending made me almost teary ;-; I’m a sucker for a good romance story.
    I never watched the movie but I have been wanting to, despite some people saying it wasn’t really as great as the book.

Leave a Reply

