Location, Location, Location!

The topic of this week’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted over at The Broke and The Bookish, is book settings. I really appreciate when an author can convey the setting of their story very well. I like to feel like I really know the location, but not as if a travel guide was explaining it. One of the reasons I enjoy science fiction or fantasy novels sometimes is because the setting are out of this world–literally.

So, in no particular order, here are some of my favorite settings (sometimes the year/era is also important).
***Note: I wouldn’t exactly say these are my Top Ten favorites because I’m not looking through all of the books I’ve ever read. Just the more recent ones and some of my past favorite books.

1) Hogwarts, Hogwarts, Hoggy Hoggy Hogwarts 🙂
It’d be pretty impossible to not love Hogwarts, since that’s pretty much where the whole series takes place, with the exception of Deathly Hallows.

2) Prince Edward Island, Canada (early 20th century)
Okay, so I’ve only read the first two Anne books by LM Montgomery. But there’s just something about reading those books that make me feel all warm and cozy inside. And part of that is, I think, the location. True, I might not really understand the location as it is in the books, but rather in the Megan Follows movies 😕 But anyways…

3) Faerie in Stardust by Neil Gaiman
A land of some interesting magic…

4) Regency England
The setting of all of Jane Austen’s novels. Gotta love it, even if it’s a bit backwards by today’ standards (where gender and class are concerned)

5) Civil Rights Era American South (1950s-60s)
This was such a tumultuous time and there are such interesting stories that take place here. In this year alone, I’ve really enjoyed The Help, fiction set in Mississippi, and Warriors Don’t Cry, a memoir set in Little Rock.

6) Panem of The Hunger Games series
Since I enjoyed the books so much, and the country of Panem and it’s different classes in different locations had so much to do with the plot to the story, I have to like it!

7) France in the early 1800s
A lot of the Pink Carnation series go between Regency England and France in each book. And I always love it!

8.) Oz
L Frank Baum and Gregory Maguire may have slightly different Ozes, but I like them both 🙂

9) Tahiti
I really loved the laid-back, tropical feeling I got from reading Celestine Vaite’s books (Breadfruit, Frangipani, Tiare in Bloom). They are terrific summer reads.

10) China of varying times, a la Lisa See
I have not read a book by Lisa See that I didn’t like. And the Chinas she write about are so captivating, albeit a bit backward (like Regency England). But that’s something that makes it so fascinating.

WHAT ARE SOME OF YOUR FAVORITE BOOK SETTINGS??

3 thoughts on “Location, Location, Location!

  1. Lisa says:

    I chose Hogwarts too. I think J.K. Rowling described the place so well that it’s imprinted in my imagination as this amazingly cool place. I would also loved to like in China in one of Lisa See’s books. I think Peony in Love would be great.

    http://www.gardenofbooks.blogspot.com

  2. Laura says:

    I’ve never read Lisa Lee, but I keep seeing her new book around the blogosphere. Which of her books is your favorite?

    Check out my list here

    • Kristie says:

      In the end, the one that I found most interesting was Peony in Love–but it took a bit long for the story to interest me. I was about to give it up when it finally got super interesting! But I think the one that is best from start to finish is Snow Flower and the Secret Fan. But if you are interested in the Chinese immigration into the US around WWII, Shanghai Girls is great. Hope you enjoy whatever Lisa See book you read!!

Leave a Reply

