Victorian Lit Challenge & Personal Collection Resolution = COMPLETED!!

Victorian Literature Challenge

Hosted by words, words, words, the Victorian Literature Challenge is to read a certain number of books published during the reign of Queen Victoria, between the years 1837-1901. Here is a link to the original post for the challenge. There are four levels of commitment to this challenge:

  • Sense and Sensibility: 1-4 books.
  • Great Expectations: 5-9 books.
  • Hard Times: 10-14 books.
  • Desperate Remedies: 15+ books.

I have committed to the Sense & Sensibility level, requiring me to read 1-4 books of the Victorian age.

1) The Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Bronte (1848)
2) Around the World in Eighty Days by Jules Verne (1873)
3) American Fairy Tales by L Frank Baum (1901)
4) Tevye the Diaryman by Sholem Aleichem (various dates between 1894 and 1916)

|

Personal Collection Resolution

This resolution is particularly meant to overlap with all other resolutions I formulate or challenges I participate in. Essentially, I want to read at least TEN books from my own collection of books. I have many books in my personal collection that qualify for my Memoir/Biography Resolution and Non-Fiction Resolution, so this resolution really encourages I finally read books that I have had on my shelves for years!

1. Warriors Don’t Cry: A Searing Memoir of the Battle to Integrate Little Rock’s Central High by Melba Pattillo Beals (had since May 26, 2010)
2. The Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Bronte (had since January 12, 2011)
3. Around the World in Eighty Days by Jules Verne (had since October 28, 2010)
4. SeinLanguage by Jerry Seinfeld (had since late 2009)
5. Potiki by Patricia Grace (had since December 13, 2010)
6. The Orchid Affair by Lauren Willig (had since January 20, 2011)
7. Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister by Gregory Maguire (had since sometime in 2004)
8. The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown (had since May 26, 2010)
9. Maus I: My Father Bleeds History & Maus II: And Here My Troubles Began by Art Spiegelman (had since early 2011)
10. The Odyssey by Homer (had hard copy since 2002, but read a free Kindle edition)
* 11. The Penelopiad by Margaret Atwood

Leave a Reply

