Blast from the Past: They Wear What Under Their Kilts

Blast from the Past is a weekly post I write that focuses on a book I read long before I ever had a blog about books. While I didn’t “book blog” until a couple of years ago, I’ve kept a reading journal of sorts for about 6 years. Blast from the Past is essentially just my way of digitalizing my old book journals–and reminding me what I thought of books long since read. I think it will be a fun way to look at how my reading selections have changed and what I like most in the books I read.

|

September 1, 2005
Well, I’m currently plummeting through They Wear WHAT Under Their Kilts? by Katie Maxwell. I know I’m not supposed to do this, but I judged it by its cover. And I was pretty accurate. The cover looks like it was scammed off of Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging (Louise Rennison), and the style of writing is almost the same. But the just of TWWUTK is an American girl in England for a year and in this book (it’s a sequel, but I didn’t read the first: The Year My Life Went Down the Loo) she’s in Scotland for a month. So of course that pulled me in, having been to Scotland before. It’s so beautiful, although Em’s on a sheep farm in the Highlands and I was in Edinburg mostly. Anyway, back to my point…The book is styled as emails from Em to her friend in Seattle, unlike a diary in ATAFFS. But I like the current book and its topics more than ATAFFS.

On page 16 (in the edition I’m reading) Em actually says the word “weenus”. Well, I think that’s hilarious because I use that word a lot and here in Ohio, or maybe even this city rather, it means the excess skin that stretches over your elbow when you bend the arm. However, Em is referring to the genital area of the male, like it should because of the common sound. I laughed really hard. Anyways…

So I like the book a lot so far, and I’m barely half-way through. Em and Holly competing for Ruaraidh (Rory in the Scottish Gaelic) is truly hilarious. And if you want to learn about the commands given to a sheep dog to get it to do its job, this is actually pretty informative on that subject. Can’t wait to see how it ends up!

September 5, 2005
TWWUTK is truly hilarious. I mean, Em gets into such weird situations, but you think, with it being Em, that she really would get into these troubles. Not everyone can get caught in an ancient mantrap or have a sunless tanning lotion fiasco, but Em can. The one thing that I really didn’t like about the book was the language. Ya know, Em’s “lingo”? She uses the annoying words like “coolio” or “hunkalicity factor” or “drool-worthy”. And that stereotype of teenage girls talking like that is really not true to that extent. I mean, sure, I’ve said “coolio” once or twice before, but I don’t use it on an everyday basis. I know that every person has their own type of communication and vocabulary, so I guess Em just has the kind that annoys me.

Even though I started with TWWUTK, which is the second in a five-book series, it made sense to me. I didn’t really know who Devon and Fang were or what happened with Aidan, but I guess and was pretty accurate. The first book of the series was started after Louise Rennison’s series of Georgia Nicholson, so I guess you could consider it a rip off. But I read the first three books of Georgia’s life and the second of Emily’s, and I would say that the book that ripped-off another book was actually better and more funny. It made me laugh.

2 thoughts on “Blast from the Past: They Wear What Under Their Kilts

  1. emmac6 says:

    maybe I’m really dumb, but is this an intended typo in your title?? They Where/Wear?

    • Kristie says:

      It was unintended, but thanks for pointing it out! I’ve fixed it 🙂 I hate it when people get the wrong spelling of words like this, so I’m a bit embarrassed I did it myself haha

Leave a Reply

