Books I’d Like to See as Movies

On Tuesday, I missed probably one of the Top Ten Tuesday posts for which I was waiting most anxiously: the top ten books I’d like to see be made into movies. (Here is the host post at the Broke and the Bookish for that TTT theme.) So I decided I would still answer the question of what books I’d like to see as movies, even if it’s a little late for the meme.

Mary, Called Magdalene by Margaret George
This would just be a really interesting movie. I think it would be a little controversial.

Idlewild by Nick Sagan
I haven’t read the second two books in this series, and I read this first installment more than five years ago. But it was a dystopic-ish book and I think it’s different than the rest I’ve read, so it’d make for a really interesting movie.

The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova
Yes, it’d be another vampire movie. But not at all Twilight/Vampire Diaries/True Blood-esque. It would be a great thriller, but it’d have to be aimed towards adults.

the Wrinkle in Time series by Madeleine L’Engle
Yes, there already is a movie for the first one in this series. But it was poorly done (made-for-TV-movie) and is aimed at children.

any of the Pink Carnation series by Lauren Willig
I love these books and I think they could make really interesting and thrilling/mysterious/sexy movies.

Peony in Love and/or Shanghai Girls by Lisa See (Snow Flower… is coming out this year 🙂 )
I have loved every Lisa See book I’ve ever read, so of course I’d love to see them made into movies.

Birth House by Ami McKay
No reason other than that I loved the book.

the Mysterious Benedict Society series by Trenton Lee Steward
They’d make a great series for children.

Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger

Across the Universe by Beth Revis

The Weird Sisters by Eleanor Brown

The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas
I know this isn’t a book by an English author, but I would love this to be  BBC miniseries so that it can remain true to the novel.

MOVIES I’M ANXIOUSLY AWAITING IN THE NEXT COUPLE YEARS:

  • Snow Flower and the Secret Fan out July 15, 2011 (the same day HP7 Pt. 2) (Lisa See)
  • The Hunger Games out March 23, 2012 (Suzanne Collins)
  • Wicked out in 2012 (Gregory Maguire)
  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 out July 15, 2011 (JK Rowling)
  • The Host out in 2012 (Stephenie Meyer)
  • The Help out August 12, 2011 (Kathryn Stockett)
MOVIES I LOVED (AS FAR AS THE ADAPTATION GOES)
  • Stardust (Neil Gaiman)
  • Perfume: The Story of a Murderer (Patrick Sueskind)
  • The Boy in the Striped Pajamas (John Boyne)
  • The Reader (Bernhard Schlink)
One thought on “Books I’d Like to See as Movies

  1. Michelle says:

    MBS would be SO good!

Leave a Reply

