Booking Through Thursday: Serial

Series? Or stand-alone books?

I’m personally fine with both. A lot of the books I read are stand-alone novels. And sometimes I wish that there could have been more when I’m finished. But, at the same time, sometimes I like those endings to stand-alones because it lets me imagine my own future for the characters.

But I also love series. I find it easier to read series after they are all written. Sometimes it’s just because I don’t like so much time to go by between the installments because I want to know what happens next NOW! 🙂 But sometimes it’s just because I feel like I forget a lot of the details before the next book. That might not be a problem if I didn’t read so many books between those installments.

Nevertheless, I love Harry Potter. I love the Mysterious Benedict Society. I love the Pink Carnation books. I love the Hunger Games. I love Across the Universe (this series just started and I just finished the first book). And I love these just as much as some of my favorite stand-alones: The Count of Monte Cristo, Stardust, All Quiet on the Western Front, and Pride and Prejudice.

6 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Serial

  1. Lori says:

    I like both, but books in a series more. Here is my answer for this week’s Booking Through Thursday.

  2. Sally says:

    Ha you have the same issue with series books as I do – I cannot stand waiting which is why I try not to read series books until they are complete or there is more than three books out.
    Sally.
    http://theelifylop.blogspot.com/2011/03/booking-through-thursday-10.html

  3. Ellie says:

    I try to have all the books in a series before reading any of them.

    If you want, you can read my BTT HERE

  4. I like both as long as it keeps your interest.

  5. Shirley says:

    I have a hard time choosing a preference. See My Bookshelf to read why.

Leave a Reply

