Booking Through Thursday: Multi-Tasking

Do you multi-task when you read? Do other things like stirring things on the stove, brushing your teeth, watching television, knitting, walking, et cetera?
Or is it just me, and you sit and do nothing but focus on what you’re reading?
(Or, if you do both, why, when, and which do you prefer?)

I do not multi-task while reading. On occasion, I can read while the television is on. But for that to work it has to be something I’ve seen many time or am completely uninterested in otherwise it distracts me too much to read. Even having certain types of music on can distract me while I’m reading (I’m not good at blocking outside noise). So I prefer to do nothing but read. Actually, one of my favorite ways to spend some time in the evening is to read while my husband plays Halo on his Xbox. That doesn’t distract me because I have no interest in it whatsoever 🙂

 

7 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Multi-Tasking

  1. I’m the same. I am able to tune out people speaking, go figure 🙂

  2. I can’t do anything except listen to music when I am reading! I gotta turn to Audio books! Only way to keep up with reading!

    Here is my BTT: Multi-Tasking post!

  3. I read while my fiance plays video games too, least distracting thing for me as well.

    Here’s my BTT Post

  4. I do tend to concentrate more on reading these days….

    Here’s MY BTT POST

  5. Mostly, I like a quiet place to read.

  6. Sally says:

    Sometimes I like having music on when I’m reading other times I cannot stand it. It depends on my mood.
    Sally.
    http://theelifylop.blogspot.com/2011/03/booking-through-thursday-9.html

  7. mostraum says:

    I’m a multitasker. If I wasn’t I’d not get much reading done at all: http://mostraum.wordpress.com/2011/03/10/booking-through-thursday-multitasking/

Leave a Reply

