Top Ten Tuesday: On the Big Screen!

I’m sure I’m not the only one out there who gets excited to see that a film version of a favorite book will be coming out 🙂 However, films of my favorite books can touch a sore spot with me. When things get “lost in translation” from book to screen, it can really irk me. For instance, I can’t view a film for the first time soon after reading the book–I’m unable to think of the film in its own right, only in comparison to the book. (This can be especially tough when I see movie trailers for books that are low on my TBR list. Good trailers really make me want to read the book, but I have to resist until after the movie.)

But, there are plenty of films that I am glad to say fit my expectations of a good adaptation. For simplicity’s sake, I’m just going to list them. I’m not going to comment much on how I think they are good adaptations because that might give things away and I feel it would be redundant to say over and over again stuff like “just good casting” or “keeping some of my favorite small details in there”.

So, film adaptations of our favorite books is the topic of today’s Top Ten Tuesday hosted over at The Broke and the Bookish. (Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. This meme was created because they are particularly fond of lists and books, so they put the two together.)

  1. Pride and Prejudice (1995, BBC mini-series)
    Colin Firth + pond = not in the book, but still appreciated 😀
  2. The Time Traveler’s Wife (2009 Rachel McAdams, Eric Bana)
  3. the Harry Potter series
    They’ve done an amazing job condensing such long and wonderful stories into movies that are fast-paced and always interesting.
  4. Stardust (2007 Claire Danes, Robert De Niro)
    While I don’t remember Captain Shakespeare being quite the way the screen writers wrote him, De Niro did a great job. His last substantial sighting in the movie is hilarious! And it makes me laugh just knowing it’s coming 🙂
  5. The Handmaid’s Tale (1990 Natasha Richardson, Faye Dunaway)
  6. The Reader (2008 Kate Winslet, Ralph Fiennes)
  7. Perfume: The Story of a Murderer (2006 Dustin Hoffman, Alan Rickman)
  8. Gigi (1958 Maurice Chevalier, Leslie Caron)
  9. The Secret Garden (1993 Maggie Smith)
    Interestingly enough, I read the book after watching this movie a lot as a child. But I got supremely bored reading the book–there really isn’t anything different about the book and movie, so reading the book, expecting some differences and finding none, boggled my mind. The only difference is how Mary’s parents died at the very beginning.
  10. The Kite Runner (2007)

Now that that is taken care of, I have more to add. I didn’t see this as a future theme of Top Ten Tuesday from the list of future themes on The Broke and the Bookish’s blog. But I also can’t figure out how to e-mail it as a suggestion to them or anything either. So I’m taking it into my own hands and expanding on this week’s theme by giving you a list of…

BOOKS I WOULD LIKE TO SEE BE MADE INTO FILMS (OR AT LEAST BETTER VERSIONS THAN WHAT EXIST)

  1. The Host by Stephenie Meyer
    film to be released in 2012*
  2. Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger
  3. Wicked by Gregory Maguire
    film to be released in 2012 or 2013*
  4. Idlewild by Nick Sagan
  5. The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova
  6. Wrinkle in Time quartet by Madeleine L’Engle
    A more grown-up version of all the books, maybe via a mini-series instead of a single film. I’m not a big fan of the 2003 made-for-TV movie 😦
  7. Peony in Love by Lisa See
    film to be released in 2012*
  8. the Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins
    film to be released in 2012*
  9. The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas
    I began to watch the 2002 film of this. I didn’t even get through the beginning credits because there was so much that was different from the book within those first few minutes. I have, however, seen a decent version, but one that was very old and badly dubbed in English (I believe it was originally French).

Those with an (*) are, according to the Internation Movie Database (IMDb.com), currently being worked as films and are due in the year I listed. This makes me really happy! I would love to see these movies, done right 🙂

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: On the Big Screen!

  1. Book Nympho says:

    I suggest you try watching The Count of Monte Cristo again. I know it’s different from the book but if you look at is a separate entity it’s a really great movie! Also just read Peony in Love and had no idea it was being made into a movie!!

  2. Mimi says:

    Have you read City of Bones? That’s a great one that I can’t wait for the movie!

  3. I saw the Handmaid’s Tale for the first time last year and Faye Dunaway was excellent. I’m looking forward to seeing Meyer’s The Host – liked it better than the Twilight series. Also looking forward to the Hunger Games.

  4. There’s no better Darcy than Firth! I really could not get into the recent movie version at all, although I did try because I love the story. But I turned it off during the scene where Darcy & Elizabeth first meet at the ball. It just didn’t work for me.

    I would love to watch The Handmaid’s Tale! I read the book last year and loved it – must look out for it.

Leave a Reply

