Top Ten Tuesday: What’s in a Name?

Everyone who plans on having children at some point or other thinks about what to name those children. I think this is particularly true for women and an increasing number of men. There are tons of books out there that have meanings of names and what-have-yous. Or you can completely make up a name, or turn a random word into a name. I’ll never understand why someone would name their child Apple or Ireland–obviously for just the attention?

Anyways, as a woman who is recently married and plans on having a baby within the next two years, names have been on my mind for a long time. And, while I would like a girl and two boys, I realize I don’t exactly have a choice–but I still think mostly about girl names ๐Ÿ˜• And I turn to my favorite books for suggestions ๐Ÿ™‚ The personality and character of some of my favorite literary figures greatly weigh in to the decision. I wouldn’t want to name my child after villains!

The theme for this week’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, is this: the top ten characters after which you’d name your children ๐Ÿ™‚

And here are my own answers. Ladies first…

1) Elizabeth (from Pride and Prejudice)
I have already decided my baby girl will be Elizabeth Jane (and not Jane, the character, but Jane the authoress). Thankfully my husband doesn’t really mind that I’ve decided on this–he likes it, I think. But Lizzie is so strong and independent. While I might dislike those attributes in a teenager I personally raise, I’d be glad to have such a confident daughter.

2) Anne (from the LM Montgomery series)
I love Anne Shirley ๐Ÿ™‚ She’s got such an imagination, something I miss about my childhood. I used to be so much more creative and romantic, like Anne, but I’ve grown up and grown out of it. I have to agree with Anne herself when I find the name to be a little plain. But as a middle name, I totally wouldn’t mind it.ย For instance, pairing it with my next favorite female name, I think it sounds lovely.

3) Audrey
Okay, I have to admit that Audrey comes from Audrey Hepburn, not exactly a character in a book. But she is the subject of many biographies, so she’s in books ๐Ÿ™‚ Audrey was strong, benevolent, compassionate, and sincere. Why wouldn’t I want to name a daughter after her. Anyways, Audrey Anne sounds nice I think. Especially with my last name (which, for privacy I obviously won’t include).

But now I have a conundrum–if I have two daughters Elizabeth Jane and Audrey Anne are fine. But what if I have only one? How will I choose? I suppose since we only want three kids if our daughter is last I could change and put my favorite two girls together–Elizabeth Audrey, also lovely. But if not, I have some serious weighing to do ๐Ÿ™‚

4) Elinor (from Sense and Sensibility)
While Elinor isn’t as confident as Lizzie, I think she’s very rational and logical. I think I would like that in a child, as I think I’m truthfully more like Elinor than Lizzie (even if I wish it were the opposite).

5) Rebecca (from the Shopaholic series)
Okay, I know Becky Brandon nee Bloomwood isn’t exactly the best role model. Becky is fun and vivacious, always good–but I know she isn’t too responsible. But, Rebecca also happens to be my late cousin’s name.

On to the boys…

6) Theodore (from Little Women)
Yes, he’s either Laurie or Teddy in the book. But I’m a firm believer in a strong first name. Something that when I shout at my child, they’ll know they’re in trouble ๐Ÿ™‚ Plus, a legal name of Teddy seems a bit…I don’t even know. But I love his character.

7) Edmond (from The Count of Monte Cristo)
This name is a little old fashioned for my taste, but I love Edmond Dantes. While he holds a grudge, he definitely plans things out. And he doesn’t punish those who are completely undeserving.

8) Fitzwilliam (as in Darcy, from Pride and Prejudice)
Again,ย old fashioned. But, if I were gutsy enough to deal with the ridicule–if I could even convince my husband of the merits of the name–I’d use it for a son. But this would end up being a name that is REALLY long. Imagine saying or writing Fitzwilliam Hemingway, which would be the length of his name (Hemingway is just a good example of the length and how many syllables are in my last name, but that’s not what it is). What a mouthful!!

9) Tristran (from Stardust)
Now, in the film adaptation they change it to Tristan, which is, to be honest, more “normal” sounding. Either or, I really like Stardust and how Tristran more or less comes-of-age during the story. He grows in the story, and I like the strong young man he turns into. And, now that I think of it, Yvaine would be a pretty girl’s name. (But while it’s pretty, it’s more exotic than my taste. If you haven’t noticed already, my names are pretty normal and very “white” or “English” in nature.)

10) Galeย (from the Hunger Games series)
I haven’t finished the series yet. When I’m done with this post, I’ll finish Mockingjay. Anyways, I really like Gale, even if he’s pretty violent in nature. Plus, Gale is at least a little more normal than Peeta, but it still seems like a girl name (Gail). But I do admire Peeta’s character, so I could go with either of them.

So what names might you give to your children from the books you’ve read???

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: What’s in a Name?

  1. Michelle says:

    I love the name Tristan. And Elizabeth.

Leave a Reply

