Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

WARNING: The Hunger Games spoilers!

TitleCatching Fire
Author: Suzanne Collins
Genre: fiction (dystopian)
ISBN: 9780439023498
Length: 391 pages
Year Published: 2009
Source: public library
Rating: 5/5
Challenges/Resolutions: none

Reason for Reading: Just have to continue the Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins 🙂
My post about The Hunger Games.

Summary:

Against all odds, Katniss has won the Hunger Games. She and fellow District 12 tribute Peeta Mellark are miraculously still alive. Katniss should be relieved, happy even. After all, she has returned to her family and her longtime friend, Gale. Yet nothing is the way Katniss wishes it to be. Gale holds her at an icy distance. Peeta has turned his back on her completely. And there are whispers of a rebellion against the Capitol–a rebellion that Katniss and Peeta may have helped create.

Much to her shock, Katniss has fueled an unrest she’s afraid she cannot stop. And what scares her even more is that she’s not entirely convinced she should try. As time draws near for Katniss and Peeta to visit the districts on the Capitol’s cruel Victory Tour, the stakes are higher than ever. If they can’t prove, without a shadow of a doubt, that they are lost in their love for each other, the consequences will be horrifying.

My Thoughts: I LOVE THIS BOOK!

I think that Catching Fire is more dystopic than The Hunger Games. The oppression of the government and the discord among the people of Panem is much more prevalent in this book than in the first. I found the first book great, though it seemed more of a survival story to me. The Hunger Games was actually mostly concerned with the Games, so I easily forgot that the government was behind the Games and even presented certain obstacles into the Games (such as the muttations).

I especially liked getting to know Katniss more in this book. The first book focused so much on Katniss in live-or-die situations and I think I didn’t get to know her very well. But there was more time to get to know her this time around, for which I am glad. And the situation with Peeta and Gale gets even more interesting as she finally decides which one she “loves”.

There was a lot more in this book that I didn’t expect. While reading The Hunger Games, I sort of knew how it would end because I know Katniss is in all three books. Granted I wasn’t certain of what was going to happen to Peeta…But with this book there was so much more going on. Yes, Katniss would have to survive the Quarter Quell to be in the third installment. But I had been hoping that the reason Haymitch’s use of the forcefield around his arena was mentioned and the chink in the forcefield Wiress and Beetee explained to Katniss would mean that there would be some sort of escape (which I was sort of right about). And the actual Games this time around were surprising, as far as what the Gamemakers put in the arena goes.

I also loved the ending for this book! It’s a perfect ending to make a reader really want to read the next installment. I can’t wait to see what happens in Mockingjay. But I’m making sure I finish my RBC discussion book before starting it, since I’m supposed to finish and discuss it today 😕 But I am very glad that I don’t have to wait a year to read the next one 😀

Leave a Reply

