January 2011: Monthly Summary & Resolution Progress

Books Read in January 2011

  • Naughts and Crosses by Malorie Blackman
  • Warriors Don’t Cry by Melba Pattillo Beals
  • selected essays (5) from Persuasions #31 by various authors
  • Digital Fortress by Dan Brown
  • The Mistress of Nothing by Kate Pullinger
  • Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict by Laurie Viera Rigler
  • The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

Books Purchased in January 2011

  • Maus and Maus II by Art Spiegelman
  • Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Bronte
  • Jane Austen’s Little Advice Book by Cathryn Michon and Pamela Norris
  • The Penelopiad by Margaret Atwood (Kindle)
  • Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood (Kindle)
  • Belinda by Maria Edgeworth (Kindle)
  • The Orchid Affair by Lauren Willig

Books Added to TBR List in January 2011

  • Delirium by Lauren Oliver (Ms. Martin Teaches Media’s review post)
  • The King of Elfland’s Daughter by Lord Dunsany (Eva’s Library Loot post)
  • The Blue Fox by Sjon (Eva’s Library Loot post)
  • A Thousand Rooms of Dream and Fear by Atiq Rahimi (Michelle’s review post)
  • Day After Night by Anita Diamant (just browsing around Amazon.com)
  • A Wall of Light by Edeet Ravel (just browsing around Amazon.com)
  • Swimming in the Congo by Margaret Meyers (just browsing around Amazon.com)
  • The House of Spirits by Isabel Allende (Just a Bookworm’s review)
  • The Poison Tree by Erin Kelly
  • The Lake of Dreams by Kim Edwards
  • The Free World by David Bezmozqis

New Year’s Resolutions Progress

  • 1 memoir towards my Memoir/Biography Resolution (4 to go for this one)
  • 1 book from my Personal Collection (9 to go for this one)

Now, I know that it’s not a bookish resolution, but I resolved to eat better (mainly cut out fast food and sweets). So, in January I lost 6 pounds from that alone 😀 Just 9 pounds to my goal weight (what I weighed when I graduated high school 5 years ago) 🙂 I did resolve to work out more, too. Unfortunately I haven’t been doing that regularly since I’ve made such progress with my weight from eating better alone. But I know that while I lose weight, that doesn’t make me “in shape”, so I really need to start working out some more.

Leave a Reply

