Plans for 2011: 5 Resolutions, 1 Challenge…so far

I’ve decided to sum up my 2011 reading goals in a single post. Since I’ve created 5 resolutions for myself, I’m trying not to overload myself by signing up for many challenges. But I have signed up for one challenge, and hopefully that’ll be all 🙂

Note: I don’t count one book for more than one resolution/challenge. The only exception is my Personal Collection Resolution, which is meant to encourage me to read books I own that count for the other resolutions/challenges.

2011 Challenge (only 1 so far)

Victorian Literature Challenge
Hosted by words, words, words, the Victorian Literature Challenge is to read a certain number of books published during the reign of Queen Victoria, between the years 1837-1901. Here is a link to the original post for the challenge. There are four levels of commitment to this challenge:

  • Sense and Sensibility: 1-4 books.
  • Great Expectations: 5-9 books.
  • Hard Times: 10-14 books.
  • Desperate Remedies: 15+ books.

I have committed to the Sense & Sensibility level, requiring me to read 1-4 books of the Victorian age.

2011 Resolutions

Memoir/Biography Resolution
Read at least FIVE memoirs, biographies, autobiographies, diaries, etc. in 2011.

Non-Fiction Resolution
Read at least FIVE non-fiction books (that don’t count towards the memoir/biography resolution) in 2011.

Travel the Globe Resolution
Read at least SIX books that are about or are written by authors from around the world, specifically from each of the following countries:

  • New Zealand
  • Cambodia
  • Turkey
  • India
  • Ireland
  • any sovereign Native American tribe

PS- This is resolution is a little different from the others in that I will be discussing these reads with a blogger friend, Shannon at Giraffe Days. We’ll be reading books about the same country and, at the end of two months, we’ll discuss and ask each other questions about how our books portray the countries, the peoples, etc. Should be a fun time 🙂 Here is a link to her post about our common goal.

Published in 2011 Resolution
This resolution is basically a repeat of one of my 2010 Resolutions: Read at least FIVE books that are newly published in 2011.

Personal Collection Resolution
This resolution is particularly meant to overlap with all other resolutions I formulate or challenges I participate in. Essentially, I want to read at least TEN books from my own collection of books. I have many books in my personal collection that qualify for my Memoir/Biography Resolution and Non-Fiction Resolution, so this resolution really encourages I finally read books that I have had on my shelves for years!

3 thoughts on “Plans for 2011: 5 Resolutions, 1 Challenge…so far

  1. I need to get started on Victorian Literature Challenge — been a bit lazy in the New Year. I’m wondering which book I should start off with for it.

  2. Brenna says:

    Great resolutions. I’m hoping to diversify my reading as well with non-fiction and worldly authors.

  3. Jen says:

    I love how you broke up your bookish resolutions! I especially love the Travel the Globe one!

    Best of luck and thanks for sharing!

    Jen at The Broke and the Bookish

Leave a Reply

