Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Reading Spots

We all have our favorites: favorite books, favorite colors, favorite music, and more. Similarly, we have our favorite spots: favorite places to go on vacation, favorite places to think, and, of course, our favorite places to read. I, for one, think I don’t have too many favorite places to read–probably not ten. Regardless, I definitely have my favorite reading spots, some more hypothetical than others.

1) Laying on the couch/sofa
This is currently where I do most of my reading. I tend to read in the evening while Nick plays his video games. It’s our relaxing time of the day to do our favorite things and we talk about our days.

2) Laying in the hammock
Okay, this is really only feasible when I go on vacation to my family’s cottage because it’s the only place I have access to a hammock. But I love it because it’s comfy and, if kept in the shade, a perfect place to read on a beautiful day. I plan on having a hammock in my future back yard, just for reading/napping on nice spring/summer/fall days!

3) Sitting in a big, cozy chair
I don’t have a big, cozy chair. I have a 50+ year old recliner/rocker with wooden/upholstered arms that Nick and I inherited from his grandma. It’s not a bad chair to read in, but I imagine a very different chair in my future study/library. One like my sister has in her house where it’s almost as big as a loveseat, but not quite 🙂

4) Sitting on my porch/balcony
When it’s warm out–whether it’s sunny or rainy –I love to read outside. My parents’ house have a nice big porch, but my apartment has a little balcony. I enjoy reading in both places. Plus, at the apartment, I find it’s a nice way to sort of meet my neighbors, as they have to pass my balcony to enter the building 😛

5) Sitting on a window seat
Okay, I don’t have a window seat. Never have. But since I like to read outside so much, I can’t see how I wouldn’t like reading on a window seat. It’d be a nice alternative for reading outside when it’s too cold to feasibly do so. And I will have a window seat in my future home.

6) In the bath
I don’t really find the bath a great time to read, exactly. But I love to listen to my audiobook in the bath.

That’s all I got 🙂

(PS- Nick and I plan on eventually building a home, so that’s how I know I will have such things as a window seat, a hammock, and a nice big comfy chair 😀 )

Where are your favorite reading spots?

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Reading Spots

  1. Great list! I would love to build a house one day and include everything I really want – like a proper library-type room and a window seat and a place for the perfect porch swing!

  2. Jamie says:

    I am demanding I get a hammock when I get my own house! It would be the best place ever to read! I seriously just love reading outside so much in general though.

  3. Michelle says:

    I’ve been dying for a window seat since I was a kid. I did finally get my big comfy chair after 4 years of pestering Ben. 🙂

  4. Katy says:

    I love to read in or on my bed, at any time of the day. 🙂 I also read in my desk chair on occasion, but only if I need to keep an ear out for the munchkins because my desk is right in the middle of the house.

Leave a Reply

