2010 Challenges = Completely Completed :o)

I started 2010 participating in three challenges: Aussie Author Challenge, hosted by Booklover; Canadian Author Challenge, hosted by Mrs. Q: Book Addict; Historical Fiction Challenge hosted by Alaine – Queen of Happy Endings. In October I picked up the Readers Imbibing Peril (RIP) Challenge, hosted by Stainless Steel Droppings. In addition, I have also completed my biggest 2010 Resolution, to read 5 books published in 2010.

I am happy to announce that I have completely completed all of these challenges, with no book overlapping and counting for more than one challenge. I have a separate page for this blog dedicated to keeping track of what I’ve read for my challenges, but I’ll post it here, too. Just to make it easy…

Aussie Author Challenge
Level: Tourist – Read three books by Aussie authors
1) Jennifer Government by Max Barry
2) The Secret River by Kate Grenville
3) People of the Book by Geraldine Brooks

Canadian Author Challenge
Level: Les Liseurs – Read three books by Canadian authors
1) Life of Pi by Yann Martel
2) The View from Castle Rock by Alice Munro
3) The Year of the Flood by Margaret Atwood

Historical Fiction Challenge
Level: Fascinated – Read six historical fiction novels
1) Shanghai Girls by Lisa See
2) Betrayal of the Blood Lily by Lauren Willig
3) Remarkable Creatures by Tracy Chevalier
4) Wench by Dolen Perkins-Valdez
5) Island Beneath the Sea by Isabel Allende
6) Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden

RIP Challenge
Level: Peril the Second – Read two “Mystery, Suspense, Thriller, Dark Fantasy, Gothic, Horror, or Supernatural” books/stories/poems/etc.
1) The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson
2) miscellaneous works of Edgar Allan Poe, including the poems The Haunted Palace, The Raven, and The Conqueror Worm in The Complete Poetry of Edgar Allan Poe and the short storiesLigeia (1838), The Black Cat (1845), and The System of Dr. Tarr and Prof. Fether (1856) via PoeStories.com

2010 Resolution
Read five books published in 2010
1) The Swan Thieves by Elizabeth Kostova
2) Changeless by Gail Carriger
3) Blameless by Gail Carriger
4) Mini Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella
5) Mischief of the Mistletoe by Lauren Willig

4 thoughts on “2010 Challenges = Completely Completed :o)

  1. Nice job! You have some fabulous books on here — I really enjoyed People of the Book, and I have Shanghai Girls sitting on my bookshelf as well.

    • Kristie says:

      Thanks! 😀 I loved People of the Book–it’s my second Geraldine Brooks novel and I loved them both, actually. I also really like Lisa See’s books–Shanghai Girls was very interesting. If you haven’t read Snow Flower and the Secret Fan or Peony in Love, I recommend them both, too! (Peony in Love starts off sort of slow/boring, but it gets MUCH better if you stick with it 🙂 )

  2. Wow, congrats on finishing your challenges!! I’m not sure I’m going to finish any of mine, it’s terrible. I’d like to try The Haunting of Hill House – how was it?

    • Kristie says:

      It wasn’t as spooky and creepy as I had anticipated. There were creepy parts, but they seemed few and far between to me. But I liked it! But I think it’d be best to go into it not thinking it’ll be very creepy–that way you won’t be let down. But it might just be me who didn’t find it creepy 🙂

Leave a Reply

