Book Beginnings: Little Women & Werewolves

“Christmas night will have a full moon, so on top of no presents, we can’t go out,” grumbled Jo, lying on the rug.
~Little Women and Werewolves by Louisa May Alcott and Valerie Alderson

This is an interesting first line. It’s a twist on a fairly-well known original first line. It doesn’t exactly seem to draw the reader in. I mean, the title Little Women and Werewolves sort of gives away why a “full moon” means the girls can’t travel outside of the house, not safely anyways. But I’m willing to overlook this and continue reading (I’ve literally just started read the book, so I post this after only having read the first sentence.) I’ve been wanting to re-read Little Women for awhile now–I think it has something to do with the Civil War course I’m taking right now. So I thought this twist on the story might be fun. I enjoyed Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, for what it was (purely a spoof).

Book Beginnings is a weekly meme, hosted by Katy at A Few More Pages.
How to participate: Share the first line (or two) of the book you are currently reading on your blog or in the comments. Include the title and the author so we know what you’re reading. Then, if you feel so moved, let us know what your first impressions were based on that first line, and let us know if you liked or did not like the sentence. The link-up will be at A Few More Pages every Friday.

2 thoughts on “Book Beginnings: Little Women & Werewolves

  1. Jo of Little Women is one of my favorite literary heroines. I’m planning on re-reading it for the Christmas Spirit Challenge.

  2. Katy says:

    Interesting! I tried reading Little Women when I was younger but I just couldn’t get into it. Adding werewolves into the mix might make it more exciting, right? LOL

    Thanks for participating in Book Beginnings!

Leave a Reply

