HP & the Deathly Hallows: re-reading the book, viewing the film

As you may recall from previous posts and the present image for what I’m “Listening To” on my sidebar, I am currently re-reading Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. Just to refresh your memories, I hated HP7 when I first read it, but decided to give it another chance as the movie previews were just looking awesome. And I thought my original feelings might have been skewed by 1) having just re-read the first six novels, from which it is really different, and 2) the sucky epilogue.

You may also recall that I swore to no end that I would NOT be going to see HP7 in theaters because I didn’t want to play into Warner Bros. and JK Rowling’s scheme to make epic amounts of money by splitting the movie into two parts. But I failed 😕 I totally sold out and was a huge hypocrite.

I have been really loving the re-read of HP7. And I went to see HP7: Part I on Saturday. I loved it. The movie covers Chapter 1-24 of HP7 the book; I was through Chapter 15 in the audiobook when I saw the movie. I think the film did a pretty good job of following the book. The few differences I noticed, such as Harry’s interactions with the Dursleys and when the Order moved Harry (all at the very beginning), were negligible. (If you’ve visited my blog for a longer period of time, you might recall that I cannot watch a movie based on a book too soon after reading the book because any difference seems, to me, a terrible thing–especially if the book was amazing.) As the movie progressed, if I saw any differences, I just kept reminding myself, “The things they took out aren’t imperative to the story. The story is still good.” However, it was a relief when the film passed where I was in the book because then I could enjoy it more (having forgotten practically all the details from the original reading of the book).

On to more specific things about the movie I like: I really like the way all of the HP movies have portrayed Harry and Ron’s relationship. I love Ron…more than Harry. The way Snape told Harry his father “strutted” around the school back in the day–that just rings true for me. Sometimes Harry does come off as all-important in the books/movies. And yeah, the books are “Harry Potter and the…..”, but I have still wished sometimes to know more about other characters. But I love Ron, the trusty sidekick. Although, Hermione would be a better sidekick, as she is smarter/quicker than Ron. (Anyone find it funny that Hermione, a muggle-born, seems to be so much better at everything magic than “pure bloods”, such as the Weasleys or Malfoys? I wonder what the message is behind that. But I digress.) Ron and Harry have had  a few spats, especially in Goblet of Fire. But, I think the number of spats is low because they’re guys. If it was a popular girl and her girl sidekick, you can be sure there’d be some tense hostility 🙂 Back to the original point: Rupert Grint does a great job of acting jealous and left out and I think he portrays those emotions from the book better than Daniel Radcliffe does on his own part. When it comes to true emotion, I think Daniel Radcliffe comes off as sort of stiff–he just can’t do it.

In this HP film in particular, I really liked the animation of the Tale of the Three Brothers. I think it was a really cool way to tell people the story–although it’s possible it was only an animation to save the money they would’ve had to pay the three men and any “supporting actors” for that tiny tid-bit. I was worried how the movie would deal with all of the lengthy portions of the book that Harry “reads” or is narrated. It would’ve been boring to have a long monologue/narration in the movie. So I’m glad they did such a good job with that.

I’m really glad that I’m enjoying the re-read more than the original reading of HP7. I think it helps that I sort of know what to expect and that I can’t possibly think any worse of it than when I went into the re-read. And I have been antsy ever since the summer to read a HP book–I just love Rowling’s writing. So I’m happy that I decided to re-read this one. It might turn out to not be my least favorite of the series, as it had originally been. (By the way, my favorites in order are 3, 5, 6, 7, 1, 4, and 2.)

So, I haven’t listened to anymore of the book than Chapter 24. I really need to finish Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden–I’ve been reading it for weeks and listening to HP7 just really took over for about a week. And when I’ve finished MoaG, maybe I’ll just finish out HP7 with the hard copy book 😀

2 thoughts on “HP & the Deathly Hallows: re-reading the book, viewing the film

  1. The animation of the Three Brothers was fantastic, I agree! Probably the only thing I was disappointed in with the movie was the moving of Harry — not a lot of time was devoted to acknowledging that Hedwig was dead. And I cried a sufficient amount of tears for that part when I read it in the book, so I was a little sad that Harry didn’t even really talk about it afterwards. Other than that, the movie was incredible!

    SPOILER ALERT, too — What’d you think of that scene when Harry zips up Ginny’s dress, or the scene when Ron is shown his worst fears and Harry and Hermione are making out (painted silver and nothing else)? Weird, huh? I’m still not sure how I feel about those two parts.

    • Kristie says:

      The only part I really had a problem with was the moving of Harry, too. Not only did they not really acknowledge Hewig–I cried at that part of the book, too–but they left out the fact that each “Harry” was going to a different place to THEN travel to the Burrow. Later, when Tonks’ dad dies, it sort of makes no sense if this part is left out–but then, maybe they won’t really include that in the next movie.

      But I was a little weirded out by those parts you mentioned! I think it was a little…forward of Ginny, to say the least, to ask Harry to do that. If I can zip up a dress I’m wearing with no help, I think she could too 🙂 It didn’t look terribly hard to do. And the Harry-Hermione imagined intimacy was weird.
      I think maybe the movie tried to play up more of the “sexual tension” of the story (in the Harry-Hermione-Ron triangle and in the Harry-Ginny relationship)–I don’t really even get that much tension when I read the book. So the movie guys must just think it appeals to the age group for which the movie is meant. Maybe? Or maybe the previous movies haven’t really led up to this level of intimacy, and the characters all of a sudden having such feelings is just different–it is sort of random, because they didn’t really work up to it? I’m also unsure of these parts.

Leave a Reply

