giving HP & the Deathly Hallows another chance…

This post includes spoilers from Harry Potter & the Deathly Hallows

I love all of the Harry Potter books, except for one: HP & the Deathly Hallows. When it came out a couple summers ago, I reread all of the first six books. (I did this because I really needed to reread #5 and #6, because I couldn’t remember everything from them–the whole series just sort of blurred together–and the movies weren’t out to remind me of what happened.) Perhaps it is because I reread all the books right before DH came out, but I just did not like it. DH was so different from the other books: no Hogwarts, lots of the supporting characters weren’t included for most of the book, no Dumbledore, no pissing off Snape (because he turned out to be bad and they weren’t at Hogwarts besides), and Voldemort isn’t hunting Harry in the same way as before (Harry, Ron, & Hermione are, in a way, hunting Voldemort (as they search for his horcruxes) and they’re pretty much on their own). Plus, DH is just so dark–there’s not nearly as many “happy” parts in it as in the previous six books. Since all the first six books were pretty similar in nature, I think perhaps this very different book just threw me off.

Well, in light of the first part of the DH film coming out, I decided to give the book another shot. The film looks good and I keep wanting to go see it, but I refuse to play into Warner Bros./Rowling’s scheme of splitting the movie into two parts. (I don’t think they need to do that–true fans would sit for 5 hours and watch a movie that long, but this way they make at least twice as much money.) So I’m reading it again. Well, I’m not actually reading it–I’m listening to it on audiobook, narrated by Jim Dale. (Michelle at My Books. My Life. recently listened to all of the series on audiobook, which gave me the idea to just listen to it this time.) And I’m trying to keep an open mind. But, I will review my thoughts on the book before listening to the Epilogue, if I listen to it at all–I disliked the Epilogue so much, that I think it might have skewed my feelings even more.

It’s going well, so far. I’m still liking the book. I’m only six chapters in. But there’s already plenty of stuff I forgot about in the past couple years–granted I didn’t try hard to remember what happened. Like I forgot Moody got killed. But I did remember Fred dies later in the book. As soon as he and George made their first appearance in the book this time, when they were to move Harry, I teared up a little just knowing it comes later–it made me cry when Fred died when I originally read it the first time.

3 thoughts on “giving HP & the Deathly Hallows another chance…

  1. Michelle says:

    Hope you enjoy it more this time. I wasn’t a fan on my first read but I’ve read it twice more since then and I like it better each time.

    I’m going to the movie tonight. WB can take my money. 😉

    • Kristie says:

      I’m glad someone else had mixed feelings on it the first time. And it’s good to hear you like it more each time–I think I’m going to enjoy it more this time because I sort of know what’s coming.

      Have fun at the movie! I know I said I won’t see it. But it wouldn’t surprise me if everyone else loving it makes me go see it in theaters–that happened with Half Blood Prince 🙂

Leave a Reply

