Booking Through Thursday: Borrowing

Who would you rather borrow from? Your library? Or a Friend?
(Or don’t your friends trust you to return their books?)
And, DO you return books you borrow?

For me, it doesn’t really matter who I borrow a book from. With friends I feel like I can borrow it for a longer period of time than I borrow one from the library–my new library only lends out books for 3 weeks (I miss my old library, which lended them out for 4 weeks. And they would hold requests for 9 days, meaning I could go only once a week, where my new library only holds them for 3 days, so I have to go lots 😦 Anyways…)

My friends do trust me with their books, but I am apprehensive to lend out my own books. All four of my Twilight books are out floating amongst my three sisters 🙂 And they have been for over a year now haha But I honestly trust my friends with my books more than my sisters, since my friends will be more careful with them and return them whereas my sisters may just keep them forever, since I’ll always be in contact with them.

Of course I return books I borrow!! I have rarely “stolen” a book from the person I borrowed it from–the exceptions being a couple of books I never returned to my fifth grade teacher (yeah, 11 years ago). And those books are actually still some of my favorite books that I continue to reread on a rainy day 😀

 

5 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Borrowing

  1. Nowadays, I mostly buy books. Or prefer to borrow from friends.

    Here is my BTT post!

  2. I would rather get my books from the library, and when I do borrow a book from someone , I do make sure I return it.

  3. Eva says:

    Only 3 days to pick up your holds?! My old library gave me 7 days and I think my new one gives me 8 or 9. I’ve only ever had 3 week lending periods though!

    I don’t lend my own books out, because whenever I have I usually never see them again. So instead, if I’ll give the person the book: eliminates the worry/guilt!

    • Kristie says:

      It’s either three or four days that I have to pick up my holds. Maybe it’s because it’s a branch library or something, but I don’t know. All I know is that since my branch is out of my way, no matter what other errands I have, I hate having to go more than once a week 😦

      Buying instead of lending sounds like a much better idea! But I know my two biggest reader-friends wouldn’t like it if I spent money on them every time they wanted to borrow a book haha

  4. yara says:

    i only land my books to my younger uncle, i’m so jelous of them (it’s correct “of them”?)!!!! but i don’t like borrow them either, i prefere to have my own book, i’m quite obsessed about them i know….

Leave a Reply

