Book Blogger Hop: Oct. 15-18

I have been super busy all week, doing wedding things and writing a few midterm essays for my online course–but I am alive! It has felt a little weird, not having the time to read and blog since I’ve been so used to my free time for the past few months (thank you, unemployment 😦 ) But I have nothing to do today, so I’m going to try to get further into my current read, The Mysteries of Udolpho by Ann Radcliffe to see if I want to stick with it (it’s been a little boring in the beginning).

But, the real reason for this post is to answer the Book Blogger Hop question for the week. So here goes…

This week’s question comes from Christina who blogs atΒ The Paperback Princesses.

“When you read a book that you just can’t get into, do you stick it out and keep reading or move to your next title?”

Usually, no, I don’t stick with a book I’m not really liking. I figure that my TBR list is very long and there are plenty of other books out there that I might like better. However, I’m usually pretty good at picking books to read that I think I will like, so I don’t usually dislike many books I start.

But this year has been different from past years: I have already put down two books this year that I didn’t like and moved on. Usually I don’t throw away any books, but two in a 5-month period is very rare for me.

And, what’s even worse is, I’m not sure if I’ll stick with the book I’m currently reading 😯 I have read about 15 pages, the first chapter, in The Mysteries of Udolpho by Ann Radcliffe (referred by Jane Austen via Catherine Morland in Northanger Abbey). The reason I might put this two-volume (600-some pages in total) aside is that it takes me nearly 3 minutes to read one page. I mean, if it’s not that interesting, I don’t know if I can stick it out when it’ll take so long to read it. Now, if it picks up like I think it might, now that one of the key events seems to have taken place, it won’t be hard. But–finger’s crossed–I’m hoping I can get through it!

5 thoughts on “Book Blogger Hop: Oct. 15-18

  1. I applaud you for trying to finish
    a 600 page book! I dont think Ihave the patience or attentions span!If you would like to link up your blog stop by mine.

  2. Kelly says:

    This week’s question seems to fit your current read perfectly! Hopefully it’ll start to get better for you πŸ™‚

    I found you through the hop and am really enjoying your blog πŸ™‚

  3. This looks like a great blog. I’m happy I found you through the hop. I think there is no shame at all on giving up on a book. If it is a classic I will try again another time. If it is just a bad book, I hate to waste my time.

  4. Heather says:

    You’re brave for sticking with it so diligently, lol, if a book is really making me struggle to even pay attention, it goes into the “later” pile. Sometimes it’s not the book, it’s just my mood.

    Check out my Blog Hop and Follow Friday HERE!

Leave a Reply

