Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-thon Update

Okay, I’ve been up and reading pretty consecutively–I took a half hour of for each lunch and dinner and to give my eyes a break–since 9am. So, that’s about 12.5 hours of reading today! And, my eyes are very tired. I just finished reading Mini Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella–it took me 10 hours to read it!! It’s 418 pages, so you do the math and find out how slow I read 🙂 And, since my eyes hurt and I’m getting weary of reading so much I am stopping early.

BUT!!!!

Most of my day tomorrow is free! So I am sort of cheating and splitting the read-a-thon up between two days. I just know I won’t make it far into any book I start tonight and I might even forget most of what I read when I wake up in the morning.

Tomorrow morning, when I wake up, I will be starting Mysteries of Udolpho by Ann Radcliffe. Originally this is what I was going to read when I finished Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson this morning. But I thought it might be too heavy to read all day. So Mini Shopaholic got bumped up in my reading queue. And I never once got bored with it or wanted to put it down.

PS- It has been a comfort to pretty much have the TV off all day. Usually it’s on all day, even if just for background noise, and I never realized how comforting it can be to not have it on! I listened to Pandora a lot today 😛

2 thoughts on “Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-thon Update

  1. Cass says:

    Great job! Hope you had fun!

  2. Michelle says:

    Good luck with your continued readathon.

    (PS – I suggest joining twitter before the next readathon. It really keeps you motivated.)

Leave a Reply

