Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-Thon

I have heard of Dewey’s Read-a-Thon from a few book blogger friends, originally from Michelle at My Books. My Life. But I was never really sure what it was, other than a read-a-thon, which is sort of obvious.

Yesterday, browsing through my blogroll, I finally found the origin of this particular read-a-thon from Giraffe Days. So, here it is:

What is Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-thon? For 24 hours, we read books, post to our blogs about our reading, and visit other readers’ blogs. We also participate in mini-challenges throughout the day. It happens twice a year, in April and in October.

It was created by the beloved Dewey (her blog has since been taken down, so the link won’t work). The first one was held in October 2007. Dewey died in late 2008. We’re still saddened by her absence, but the show must go on. The read-a-thon was renamed to honor its founder in 2009.

Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-thon is hosted by Trish, with help from volunteers.

(If you’re interested in participating as a reader, here’s the sign-up post – or you can sign up as a cheerleader instead, we love readathon cheerleaders!)

There will be a Dewey Read-a-Thon this next Saturday, October 9th. And I think I will be participating. Unfortunately, I will be starting a little later on Saturday than most–my bridesmaids are spending that Friday night with me, helping me to put together all the invitations so they will be at my place for awhile on Saturday morning. But as soon as they leave, I am all about reading 😀 I’m not sure what I will be reading, but I do have a hefty pile from the library. So I think I’ll just stick with those. But I’ll post a list of what I hope to read towards the end of the week 🙂

6 thoughts on “Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-Thon

  1. Shannon says:

    YAY for two reasons – one that you will be joining the read-a-thon, and secondly YOU’RE GETTING MARRIED!!?!! I did NOT know that! How fantastic!

    Also, while I’m here – I see you’re reading The Haunting of Hill House – I haven’t heard of this before, what’s it like?

    • Kristie says:

      I’m super-excited for the read-a-thon. And yes, I’m getting married 😀 In December 🙂

      I’m really liking The Haunting of Hill House. I haven’t arrived at what I’m guessing is the creepy part, but having read We Have Always Lived in the Castle, I expect some really creepy stuff. But I love Jackson’s writing, so I can’t wait to keep reading this

      • Shannon says:

        I haven’t read We Have Always Lived in the Castle yet, but it’s on my shelf. I’m sort-of making October a month to read creepy stuff, so I should read it soon!

        Wow December – so close! Mine’s January. Mmmm summer …! 🙂 We wanted December but couldn’t get flights.

      • Kristie says:

        If you’re making October the month to read creepy stuff, you should check out the RIP Challenge! I just joined, even though it’s for September-October. I have a post about it a couple posts back. It sounds fun!

        I didn’t know you were getting married either! January is close, too 🙂

  2. Michelle says:

    I’m so glad you’re joining this time, Kristie. It’s lots of fun, I promise. 🙂

  3. misswisabus says:

    Oooh, bridesmaid fun!

    I hope you enjoy your first Read-A-Thon. It’s been a joy to me to get to know so many different bloggers through this event.

    And your “currently reading” is one of my all-time favorites. Scary! But I’m a weenie.

    (Found your blog searching for Read-A-Thon posts!)

Leave a Reply

