another given up read: Beloved by Toni Morrison

This is a rare occurrence, especially seeing as I have already given up on another novel this year. But I am putting down another book I’ve been reading for the past week: Beloved by Toni Morrison. I picked up the novel to read as part of the ALA’s Banned Book Week. But I am just not enjoying it. There is absolutely nothing wrong with it, but I am just not interested in the storyline. I don’t find the reasons for which it is often challenged/banned to be the reasons I don’t like the book–it’s just sort of boring and doesn’t seem to exhibit anything that should be good later on in it. I’m sad that I don’t like it, honestly 😦

One thought on “another given up read: Beloved by Toni Morrison

  1. Jinny says:

    I totally know what you mean. I had to read Toni Morrison’s “Jazz” for my American Lit. class, and if it wasn’t the fact that I had to write a paper on it, I wouldn’t have been able to get through it. Like you said, there’s nothing really wrong with the books, they’re just not something you read for entertainment … more for study, I guess :S

Leave a Reply

