“technically” vs. “in reality”

Technically, I have fulfilled all requirements for the challenges/resolutions I’m doing this year 😀 Those are the Aussie Author Challenge, Canadian Author Challenge, and Historical Fiction Challenge and also reading 5 books published in 2010.

In reality, I don’t think I can say I fulfilled the challenges and be happy with it 😕 This is because I have used multiple books in more than one challenge/resolution.

Here is what is on my 2010: Books Read & Challenges page:

Historical Fiction Challenge
*Fascinated Level = read 6 Historical Fiction novels
1.
Shanghai Girls by Lisa See
2.
Betrayal of the Blood Lily by Lauren Willig
3.
Remarkable Creatures by Tracy Chevalier
4.
Wench by Dolen Perkins-Valdez
5.
Island Beneath the Sea by Isabel Allende
6.
The Secret River by Kate Grenville

Canadian Author Challenge
*Level 1 = read 3 novels written by Canadian authors
1.
Life of Pi by Yann Martel
2.
The View from Castle Rock by Alice Munro
3.
The Year of the Flood by Margaret Atwood

Aussie Author Challenge
*Tourist Level = read 3 novels written by Australian authors
1.
Jennifer Government by Max Barry
2.
The Secret River by Kate Grenville
3.
People of the Book by Geraldine Brooks

2010 Resolutions
*read at least 5 books published in 2010
1.
Betrayal of the Blood Lily by Lauren Willig
2.
Remarkable Creatures by Tracy Chevalier
3.
The Swan Thieves by Elizabeth Kostova
4.
Wench by Dolen Perkins-Valdez
5.
Changeless by Gail Carriger

So, the books in red I’m using in multiple challenges. These are the ones it is now my goal to replace so there is no red at all. The Canadian Author Challenge is the only challenge I have totally completed, in reality 🙂 (It should be fairly easy, as I really only have to read four more books and then replace one book in one category)

3 thoughts on ““technically” vs. “in reality”

  1. Dominique says:

    You’ve done well! I’m no way near to finishing all of mine, I’ve only finished The Chunkster Challenge this year I think. I still have heaps of Aussie books to read, one Canadian book (and another one I haven’t reviewed yet) and two poetry collections. Ugh! I think I signed up for too high a participation level for the Aussie Challenge actually…

    • Kristie says:

      🙂 I’m definitely glad that I didn’t sign up for more than three challenges. Between those and my own new year’s resolutions, I have just the right balance between purely pleasure books and books with another agenda behind them (but I still enjoy them). And I already have three resolutions for next year! It’s crazy 😀

  2. Michelle says:

    I don’t know if I’ve ever finished a challenge. I think you’ve done great.

Leave a Reply

