Happy Roald Dahl Day!!

Today is Roald Dahl Day!!
(September 13th was his birthday)

Roald Dahl has a special place in my heart. My 3rd grade teacher (yes, this is back in 1997), Mrs. Bernardo, used to read Roald Dahl to us quite often during our class reading time. She loved his books and I, personally, loved listening to them.

But Roald Dahl was even more special than that to me. When I was young, I didn’t read very well–I still consider my reading speed to be pretty slow. Somehow, I got a hold of the book Matilda just before Mrs. Bernardo began reading it to us. Thanks to Roald Dahl’s amazing stories and Mrs. Bernardo being a great teacher, I was allowed to sit at my desk (away from the rest of the class) and read my book along with Mrs. Bernardo reading it to the rest of the class. I believe it was this particular time and book that made me start to LOVE reading 😀

So, I thank you, Roald Dahl (and Mrs. B), for sparking my love of reading 🙂

In order to celebrate Roald Dahl Day, I’m going to be reading some of his work. While Mrs. B read us Matilda, Danny the Champion of the World, The Twits, Witches, and The BFG–and I read my older sister’s copy of Esio Trot on my own–that is not all of Dahl’s work. I still, to this day, have not read or seen the movie version of James and the Giant Peach. So I’ll be reading this first (*FINISHED*). And then I’ll read Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, as I’m about 80% sure Mrs. B did not read that one to us, as well. Oh, and since it’s honestly one of my favorite films, I’ll be watching Matilda (1996) at some point today, as well 😀

*UPDATE: Here is a link to my “review” of James and the Giant Peach*
*UPDATE: Here is a link to my “review” of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory*

|

And I also want to point out that Roald Dahl’s books are made even better by the illustrator Quentin Blake. I can’t imagine reading one of Dahl’s books without seeing Blake’s drawings inside. Below are some of my favorites.

Matilda

The Witches

The BFG (Big Friendly Giant)

4 thoughts on “Happy Roald Dahl Day!!

  1. Quotables says:

    Great post! We’ve featured you on our Roald Dahl Day blog round-up on the Quotables blog: http://bit.ly/a2LyK1

  2. Michelle says:

    I love Roald Dahl. Maybe I should revisit one of my favorites this week. But there are so many to choose from.

  3. […] Live Through Books blog shares memories of reading Roald Dahl’s children’s books […]

Leave a Reply

