Charlie & the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl

Title: Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
Author
: Roald Dahl 
Genre
: fiction, kid’s lit
ISBN
: 9780375815263
Pages
: 155
Year
Published: 1964
Source:
public library
Rating
: 5/5
Reason for Reading: Roald Dahl Day; Years of Books Goal (1964)

Book Description (book jacket):

August Gloop eats himself sick.
Veruca Salt is a spoiled rotten brat.
Violet Beauregarde chews gum day and night.
Mike Teavee is a television fiend.

Charlie Bucket, Our Hero, is brave and true and very, very hungry.

What do these five have in common? Why, they’re the luckiest children in the entire world: they’ve each won the chance to enter Willy Wonka’s famous, mysterious chocolate factory.

What happens when the big doors swing open to reveal Mr. Wonka’s secrets? What happens when they come upon the tiny factory workers who sing in rhyme? What happens when, one by one, the children disobey Mr. Wonka’s orders? In Roald Dahl’s most popular story for children, the nasty are punished and the good are deliciously, sumptuously rewarded.

My Thoughts: I cannot believe it has taken me THIS long to read this wonderful story. I’ve read plenty of other of Dahl’s works, but this one, never. I think maybe I have put it off because it’s supposed to be his most popular book and I didn’t want to go in order of popularity? Maybe? Or I just never thought about it. I guess since there are movies to go along with this book–one, a musical (I love musicals 🙂 )–maybe I just relied on them. And, I have to admit, the movies are pretty good as far as sticking to the book goes. I don’t believe I’ve seen the recent Charlie and the Chocolate Factory film, only Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory (the musical). But I know that that film does follow the book better than the musicals. For instance, Veruca and the squirrels vs. Veruca and the geese that lay the golden eggs–only one is in the book and the movies contain one each of these options.

I have to say, I was thoroughly disappointed to not have the Oompa Loompa songs as they were in the musical when every bad child goes away. Dahl’s original poems were by no means bad, but I just love those songs 😕 And, I guess I thought it would be more like my favorite Alice in Wonderland film (Natalie Gregory stars as Alice) where the original poems in the story by Carroll became songs.

But I think I should definitely read Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator as none of the movies contain parts of the sequel, as far as I know.

My Thoughts on the Cover: BORING!! Not very appealing to kids. But it seems like this particular cover, as it is a hardback, would be more of a book a parent loved as a child and wanted to have for their kids. I can understand that. I think I would like to have a Roald Dahl boxed set (if such a thing exists) for my future kids, and I would therefore buy a nice set. HOWEVER, Quentin Blake’s illustrations were still in this book, despite the hard cover, so all is well 😀

Leave a Reply

