Book Blogger Hop: September 3-6, 2010

Do you judge a book by its cover?

(This week’s question comes from: Sarah @ SarahReadsTooMuch)

I hate to admit it, but I do judge books by the covers sometimes. It’s not so much about what I think about the book covers. But I do get a little embarrassed to be seen reading a book. I know it’s terrible to care what others think, but I do view some people differently when I see what they read so I guess others might do that to me, too.

Plus, a book cover that is eye appealing will often draw my attention and I will ignore the more average looking covers. Again, not something I’m proud of.

Recently, I have added a sort of cover review to my overall book review when I finish reading, too!

Actually, I have two rants about a book cover that is coming out in January 2011: you can view these posts by clicking here and here. (Essentially, a book in a series I follow is going to look entirely too romance-y than it is historical fiction-y, which is really what it is.)

5 thoughts on “Book Blogger Hop: September 3-6, 2010

  1. Donna says:

    Hi, Kristie. I think we’re all guilty of judging a book by its cover! You made a good point that I didn’t think about: other people seeing what you’re reading and vice versa. My post talks about reviews where I’ve mentioned the covers too. I’m going to read yours. Have a great weekend.

  2. Hi 🙂 It’s funny you mention about others seeing you read. I work out everyday and while I’m there, I take a book and read. I’m a huge reader of romance so two guesses what the covers look like. No joke, I will put my book face down and at the last possible second flip it over, open it and hide the cover. One day a guy was walking beside me and asked me what I was reading. Without thinking, I showed him the cover and DIED. Yep semi naked hot guy on the cover. So I get what you were saying. Hope you enjoy your weekend and I’ll be back to read more.
    Here’s my Hop

  3. I too sometimes fall for covers!

    Came here via blog hopping/Follow me. Have a blast hopping to/following new blogs! Do check out my blog, everything distils into reading. I am an eclectic reader! I follow blogs I like via my google reader!

  4. Donna says:

    Hi visiting from the HOP! The cover stories here are making me laugh. My boss threw away one book that our book club read because she was embarrassed by the cover – and these are a bunch of literary ladies, so they must have all hated the cover!

    I would love for you to say Happy Birthday to my daughter who just started a blog – today on her birthday…
    Outpourings Of A Soul.

    I hope you will have time to visit one or both of my blogs: LibrarysCat and Never Forget !!

    Have a great weekend!

  5. Hello, I stopped by on the blog hop. You have a lovely blog. I’m definitely going to add you to my Google Reader–I look forward to reading more posts.

Leave a Reply

