Booking Through Thursday: Film to Paper?

Even though it’s usually a mistake (grin) … do movies made out of books make you want to read the original?

Sometimes movies make me want to read the books. A recent example of this is Rebecca (1940). I saw Michelle’s comparison and reviews of the book and movie, and she immediately made me interested. If I see a really good movie, I will search for the book behind it (because there usually is one) and read it or add it to my TBR list.

And, since it’s sort of the same topic…
I don’t want to sound like a broken record, because some of my bookish friends have probably heard many a time about my book-to-movie problem, but here it is for the newer folks: It is 99% impossible for me to view a movie based on a book I love and be happy with it. When watching movies after having read the books, I cannot get the book out of my mind–I view any deviation from the book a slap in the face and cannot go on. (Yet, Colin Firth swimming in the pond as Mr. Darcy in the BBC P&P doesn’t bother me at all, and that definitely wasn’t in the novel :?) For this reason, when I know there is a new book I want to read and think I’ll really like it, I watch the movie first. Seeing the movie first doesn’t really affect my reading the same book.

In fact, I have watched the beginning few minutes of the most recent Count of Monte Cristo (2002) film and turned it off. I figured if the first few minutes are so different from my ultimate favorite novel in the world, it is just better for the DVD, the TV, and my sanity to stop watching before I get really upset.

Thank you for reading my rant. I am now done. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Film to Paper?

  1. Vicki says:

    I agree that a book is better than the movie!

  2. I do read certain books after watching a period drama. In a way it has only enhanced a movie. However, I don’t like to watch movies after reading a book. Exceptions are there,
    though!

    Here is my BTT: Film to Books post!

Leave a Reply

