Book Blogger Hop: August 27-30, 2010

Do you use a rating system for your reviews and if so, what is it and why?

Yes, I do have a rating system for reviewing my books. (First, I should point out that my reviews are more for me and friends–they’re not meant, in any way, to be professional reviews.)

I use a 5-point system. Basically, I hardly ever have 1’s. Why would I continue reading a book I dislike so much that it would get a 1?
A 3 would be a book I would ask for as a gift and probably not reread it too often.
A 5 would be a book I would invest in for myself and reread often.
A 4 is sort of between these two, obviously. It’s when I’m on the fence about it.
A 2 would be a book that I found barely interesting enough to finish.

I have my rating system because if I go back and look through reviews, it helps me remember what I thought of it before reading the review. But, it also helps me decide if I want to request it as a gift or buy it myself.

5 thoughts on “Book Blogger Hop: August 27-30, 2010

  1. Came here via blog hopping/Follow me. Have a blast hopping to/following new blogs! Do check out my blog, everything distils into reading. I am an eclectic reader!

  2. Holly says:

    Hello! Stopping by via the HOP. Feel free to check out my blog.
    Happy Reading!

  3. Elizabeth says:

    Just hopping by….

    Stop by my blog if you get a chance for reviews on I’d Know you Anywhere by Laura Lippman, Saving Cee Cee Honeycut by Beth Hoffman, and many others.

    Happy Hopping, Everyone….hop on over to my blog to see my answer to the rating question.

    http://silversolara.blogspot.com

  4. Just found you via the Hop. I’m enjoying my look around, esp. that photo of your fiancee. How cool that he started reading and hasn’t stopped!

  5. Kika says:

    coming through via blog hop. loving your blog! hope you’ve had a good weekend 🙂 happy reading!

Leave a Reply

