Booking Through Thursday

If you’re not enjoying a book, will you stop mid-way? Or do you push through to the end? What makes you decide to stop?

Yes, I will stop in the middle of a book if I’m not enjoying it. Only if I’ve had fair warning that the book starts very slow, but picks up will I keep with it. (Actually, one of my favorite books I stopped reading midway because I wasn’t enjoying it–only when I took it back to the library did I peek at the end and then check it out again. This was Pride and Prejudice 🙂 )

In order for me to stop reading a book I basically have to be totally uninterested in it. I will not put a book down because it’s not what I expected, so long as I am still a little interested. However, if I stick with something that isn’t as a I expected, they tend to get lower ratings 😦

3 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday

  1. Frankly, I think why should I waste time reading something I don’t like when there are so many more to choose from..

    Here is my BTT: Giving Up post!

  2. I had a similar experience with P&P – had to read it for a high school English class, and just couldn’t finish it. Thought it was boring beyond words. Then many years later I decided to give it another try and loved it. Guess it’s just one of those books you have to be ready for.

    • Kristie says:

      For me, it also had to do with the writing style. It was my first JA book and I could not follow her LONG sentences without having to go back and reread a lot. So I read S&S all the way through after this attempt, because I’d seen the movie and figured that would help my comprehension. Glad to know I’m not the only one who could read Austen all the way through (at least the first try 😛 )

Leave a Reply

