happy birthday to me!

I was browsing around my bookish blogs today and found two amazing reviews of the same book that I just had to have it. So, naturally I went to my library’s website to request it through the interlibrary loan system, if my branch didn’t already have it. I requested it, but alas! I then found out that it was a downloadable book, not a hard copy. As I detest reading on the computer more than necessary and have no digital reader to download it on, I decided to see how much the book would cost to purchase. I don’t buy books that often.

HOWEVER, the book and it’s sequel (the first two in a continuing series) were each only $7.99 on Amazon.com 😀 So, I said, “What the heck!” and just bought them. I figured, my birthday is in 10 days, so I’ll treat myself! (Plus, Nick and I will be babysitting a little this weekend and I’ll make the money spent on the books and their shipping back before I get them! 😉 )

“What books did you buy?” you might be wondering.

I bought Soulless by Gail Carriger and also Changeless, also by Gail Carriger. The third installment, Blameless, comes out in only a couple of weeks, too! I figure, if I don’t enjoy these as much as I think, I’ll give them to my younger sister to see if she likes them (we have similar taste, but she can go a bit weird on me sometimes) and, if that doesn’t work, I’ll donate them to the library. (So some other schmuck doesn’t have to get a “downloadable book”.)

I anxiously await their arrival.

Thanks very much to Dom, who’s glowing review of Soulless caught my eye on her bookish blog, Coffee Stained Pages, and for directing me further to another wonderful review by Shannon at Giraffe Days. I mean, if you know me at all, you know I can’t turn away a book described like this (by Dom):

Take the structured societal rules and preoccupation with manners of Jane Austen, a sexed up version of the love/hate relationship between Elizabeth Bennett and Fitzwilliam Darcy in Pride and Prejudice, some dandy vampires and lusty werewolves who have integrated into society a la The Sookie Stackhouse Mysteries, a guest spot from Queen Victoria and add a few steampunk touches and you pretty much have Soulless by Gail Carriger.

3 thoughts on “happy birthday to me!

  1. Dominique says:

    Yay! Technically you can consider them birthday presents to yourself, I think anyways! The perfect excuse for book shopping.
    Thanks so much for the link, I’m looking forward to reading your thoughts on Soulless.

  2. Shannon says:

    Always happy to recommend THIS series! 😀

    I’m eagerly awaiting book 3 – #2 ended in such a way that I was like “Nooooooooo!!” It’s good cheesy fun 😉

  3. Willa says:

    oooh I’ve already been shopping at Amazon once today. But now I feel like visiting again… Dreadful temptation… 🙂 Congratulations on the books though – I can’t wait to read your reviews!

Leave a Reply

