trying something i don’t typically like

In an effort to get back into the Rory’s Book Club (RBC) a little (I’ve really been growing away from it lately), I am reading a sort of book I don’t typically like: short stories. As far as collections of short stories go, I don’t like them. The point is simply this: when one story is over, I have difficulty starting the next one.

I did, however, find a perfect use for short stories during my busiest semester of university: when I was too busy to read a whole book, but still wanted to read a little at a time for pleasure, short stories were perfect. Of course, I dumped this book (a collection of Evelyn Waugh) as soon as I had time for real books again.

But I digress…I am going to be reading The View from Castle Rock by Alice Munro. As far as I can tell, these are short stories that sort of flow together in an order to sort of create a longer story. Like some of Wodehouse’s Jeeves books (I do like Jeeves 😀 ). This will be discussed on the RBC forums. If anyone else has read or wants a reason to read this book, there is always more room for discussion. A forum will discuss it on the Book Discussions page of RBC. (If I remember, I’ll post the direct link to the forum once it becomes available…)

4 thoughts on “trying something i don’t typically like

  1. Michelle says:

    I should do this, too. I don’t know why I’ve neglected RBC so much lately. Seems slower than it used to be when I do make my way over there.

    • Kristie says:

      I know. I think so, too. Maybe those of us who used to post a lot have just neglected it for writing on our blogs 😦 I kind of forgot about it for a couple weeks until I noticed Book Addict wants to start doing another book club, as she posted on her blog.

      • Michelle says:

        Yeah. Maybe the blogging has taken over. It’s kind of sad. That used to be my favorite place to visit every day. Now I go weeks without checking it.

      • Kristie says:

        I try to visit it, like when I have nothing else to do on the computer. But since most of the people who posted a lot have also gone away, it seems like it’s not really a place to talk to my bookish friends. (That’s what I do on the blogs, now.)

Leave a Reply

