I Write Like…

Browsing my blogroll of bookish blogs, I stumbled upon an interesting post by Carmen at Art of Reading. There is this website, called I Write Like. You basically copy and paste some text that you have written and have the website analyze it. I copied and pasted my latest blog post (of substance; my list of books read in July doesn’t count), which is my fiction vs. non-fiction post, and here is the result:

The only Bradbury I have read is Fahrenheit 451 and I found it to be very interesting. But it was a few years ago, so I can’t really say that this is true. Plus, I copied and pasted several blog posts into the analyzer and got a different author each time, Mark Twain and Stephen King to name a couple.

But it’s still a fun thing to try out. Curiously enough, all of my authors were men. Anyone get a girl?

PS- I just tried, for fun, one of my favorite quotes from Pride and Prejudice–“You must allow me to tell you how ardently I love and admire you”–and it didn’t say I write like Jane Austen. It said I write like Harry Harrison, whoever that is 😛

2 thoughts on “I Write Like…

  1. Eva says:

    It didn’t say Jane Austen because the only authors the site uses are white men. 😉 lol

    • Kristie says:

      🙂 Well, when I copied and pasted some of JA’s own words into it, it named JA. But, when I took part of her works with no character names in it, it immediately went back to white men :/ I think the website is a tad biased haha

Leave a Reply

