i am very unhappy about this cover :o(

As some of you may remember, one ongoing series that I follow avidly is the Pink Carnation series, written by Lauren Willig. The series is set in the early 1800s, mostly in the UK (although the most recent installment took place in India). It intertwines history, espionage, and romance in a way that I absolutely LOVE!

A the seventh book comes out in January 2011 and its cover has just been released. I am thoroughly upset by this cover. Here is a picture:

I have a couple of problems with this cover.

#1.) It is completely different from all of the previous covers, which have a certain theme which has changed little since the beginning. Here are thumbnails of those covers (The Mischief of the Mistletoe is due to be released later this winter, in 2010, but it is more of a novella and a side-note from the series, as far as I understand).

#2.) This cover, in my very personal opinion, demeans the novel. I look at the cover and see “ROMANCE”. The series is in the general fiction section of my old library and the mystery section of my new one–not the romance section. I don’t think much of romance novels. I have nothing against them, but I guess I think they’re for bored women. I admit, I have never read a novel that was classified only as romance. And while I like the romance aspect of the series, I don’t like it more than the historical and espionage aspects. If ever I get embarrassed by people seeing what I’m reading, it’s when it looks like I’m reading a “ROMANTIC-Y” book. Of course, I will still buy this installment–nothing will stop me. But I wouldn’t be surprised if I deliberately removed the dust cover so it looks like I’m reading something slightly more intelligent.

|

I apologize if I have offended anyone for my anti-romance novel stance. I like chick-lit sometimes, so it’s possible I could find a romance novel I like as well. But, as of now, my opinion is what I have just written.

6 thoughts on “i am very unhappy about this cover :o(

  1. Michelle says:

    I knew exactly where you were going to go with this as soon as I saw the cover. It does look very romance-y. But maybe this is a lesson in not judging a book by its cover?

    • Kristie says:

      This is true. But I know a lot of other commenters on Willig’s website and on her Facebook site dislike this cover, as well. For me, half the problem is the continuity and all the series not looking similar. That’s probably some OCD-ish thing for me.

      Willig is having a cover contest for people to post their own covers, what they would like for The Orchid Affair. It makes this problem for me even worse because I really love what some of the contestants are creating!

  2. Shannon says:

    Ugh, you are SO RIGHT about the cover! The previous books are really quite lovely and make me interested in reading them, but the new one does say TACKY ROMANCE and while I might still read it, you’re right, it doesn’t say INTELLIGENT NOVEL at all.

  3. […] rants about a book cover that is coming out in January 2011: you can view these posts by clicking here and here. (Essentially, a book in a series I follow is going to look entirely to romance-y than […]

  4. Donna says:

    The departure from prior cover conventions is very apparent. Since the series is well underway; and the fanbase has been established, the publishers are probably just trying to add a new demographic to boost sales. It’s a shame, though. Maybe publishers should start doing what magazines are doing, now—offering more than one cover.

    • Kristie says:

      I hadn’t really thought about trying to add to the fanbase with the new cover. It would work, probably. I’m part of the original fanbase and I will still buy it, even if I don’t like it. So you bring up a good point! But I think if people start to read this book or the series as a whole and think it’ll be romance-y, they’ll be disappointed. Romance is there, but it doesn’t make up a majority of the genre.

Leave a Reply

