Auntie Mame by Patrick Dennis (pseud.)

Title: Auntie Mame
Author: Patrick Dennis (pseud.)
Genre: fiction
ISBN: none (1955 ed.)
Pages: 280
Year Published: 1955
Source: public library
Rating: 5/5

Description from book jacket:

Remember the stories of the poor, orphaned boy, raised through hardship by his maiden aunt into virtuous, industrious manhood? Well, forget them!
Our hero is a wealthy sprout, left–during a cocktail party–on the gold chaise-lounge of his Auntie Mame, as riotous and rebellious an heiress as ever made the 30s blush, the 40s shout, and the 50s beg for mercy.
The adventure of this pair in progressive schol will shake your faith in education; their plunge into the South may easily open a new chapter to the Civil War; their literary adventures may shatter your glasses! Nothing is sacred–and little is spared–from Maine to Macy’s, Princeton to Park Avenue, and all points South and West.
If you’ve ever been known to laugh, even just a little, and you liked it, get set for a wonderful time. Auntie Mame will do the rest.

So this book was really one of the funniest books I’ve read to date. What a life the narrator, Patrick, lives. His Auntie Mame is quite a character. I would love to have such a funny and interesting relative. Not to mention, the story takes place during a very tumultuous time: late 1920s until the early 1950s. I also love the fact that the main characters are well-to-do in New York City. If I could have these sorts of adventures I would be a happy girl. These are the sorts of books which made me name my blog “Live through Books”. In all reality, I wouldn’t like to personally experience some if these things. But that’s why I like to live vicariously through characters in books. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who wants a light and funny read–perfect for summer 🙂

4 thoughts on “Auntie Mame by Patrick Dennis (pseud.)

  1. Dominique says:

    A lot of people seem to have loved this one. It sounds like a lot of fun. 🙂

  2. Bina says:

    Sounds like perfect summer reading, hope my library´s got a copy! 🙂

    • Kristie says:

      I am now reading the sequel, which actually takes place during the first one as a sort of flashback thing. I love it, too! I recommend both.

  3. […] with Auntie Mame by Patrick Dennis (pseud.). If you look a few posts back, I absolutely adored Auntie Mame, so this sequel seemed like a good book to start after being disappointed in another book […]

Leave a Reply

