Recent Purchase

Yesterday, I made the first book purchase in many months for pleasure books (that is, books not for school/book club). I believe the last time I bought a book for pleasure was January, when I bought The Betrayal of the Blood Lily by Lauren Willig–however, I always buy these as they make up a series.

So here is what I got yesterday:

The Restaurant at the End of the Universe by Douglas Adams
I bought this book because I have #1, #4, and #5 in the Hitchhiker’s Guide series and this is #2. I would’ve also purchased #3, if they had had it. But alas, they didn’t. I just finished Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy and really liked it, so I’m anxious to see what happens next.

The Spanish Bride by Laurien Gardner
This one just looked interesting to me. It focuses on Catherine of Aragon and her marriages to Arthur and Henry. The narrator is Catherine’s maid-of-honor. It is obviously a historical fiction novel, which I always like, so it will count towards my Historical Fiction challenge.

Warriors Don’t Cry by Melva Pattillo Beals
This is a memoir based on the diary of Melva Pattillo Beals, one of the Little Rock Nine. The Little Rock Nine was a group of nine African-American students who attended Little Rock High School (in the deep south of the US), where the issue of integration during the Civil Rights Movement was extremely unpopular to many white people. I have always been interested in the Civil Rights Movement as a period of American History, so this should be especially interesting to me.

Tender is the Night by F Scott Fitzgerald
I greatly disliked The Great Gatsby. It doesn’t matter that it was required for me in high school, but I just didn’t like the story. However, I love the 1920s. So I figured I’d give Fitzgerald another shot with this one.

Island Beneath the Sea by Isabel Allende
This is probably the book I am most looking forward to reading. From what I understand, it is based in the Caribbean, located in such places as Haiti and New Orleans (on the Gulf Coast). It also includes the Haitian Revolution against France and people, such as Touissant L’Overture (the leader of the revolution). I think this will be the book I begin first when I take these books on vacation with me 🙂

The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown
I have read the other two Robert Langdon novels by Brown and enjoyed them. I enjoy a fast-paced thriller every now and then. While some people might think Brown’s writing is not great enough to be read, I disagree. I just like the stories he writes. So I also think I’ll like this as much as the previous two.

One thought on “Recent Purchase

  1. Dominique says:

    I haven’t read any of these. I LOVED Isabel Allende’s The House of Spirits and really recommend it. I’d like to read this new one of her’s too but I still have Eva Luna at home and haven’t read it so I feel I should tick that one off my list first.
    The title The Spanish Bride caught my interest, but I so don’t want to read another Henry VIII related novel, so over that period, I used to love it but now it’s everywhere. I’ll still be interested to know if it’s any good though. I purchased way more books than usual this month too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

