Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë

Title: Wuthering Heights
Author: Emily Brontë
Genre: classic, literature
Length: 415 pages
Purchased with X-mas money, 2008
Rating: 4/5
Challenges: none
Read for RBC Discussion
Click here to go to the discussion

This is the first Emily Brontë novel I have read. I have read Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë, which I really enjoyed. I have read no Anne Brontë as of yet. Anyways…

So, it’s difficult to explain this novel. There is so much that is going on and, as was typical of the early 1800s, many of the same names across generations. First generation are Heathcliff, Catherine Earnshaw, & Hindley Earnshaw–all of them grew up together, Mr. Earnshaw sort of adopting Heathcliff. Love triangle between Heathcliff-Catherine-Edgar Linton (neighbor). And from there, marriages happen and the next generation is taken advantage of by the one in the first generation who was more wronged than the others.

Wuthering Heights is very dark and I’m not accustomed to have such a strong mood present throughout the whole novel. In the RBC discussion, we have been comparing–or rather contrasting–this with some of Jane Austen’s writing, which was only around 20-30 years before the Brontës. I was also making comparisons between this and Count of Monte Cristo, my ultimate favorite book–both have main characters that were wronged and sought revenge, but I felt two completely different things towards them.

In order to see more of what I think on the subject of Wuthering Heights, you should check out the RBC discussion thread because there is a lot more information there, that is more thought-provoking than what I included here.

Next to read:
Remarkable Creatures by Tracy Chevalier

3 thoughts on “Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë

  1. Dominique says:

    I’m glad you enjoyed it! I thought I could reread it for discussion but I really lost interest in it after the first section and couldn’t make myself keep going. It’s one of my favourite books though so I will read it again one day.

  2. Dominique says:

    I love your new layout by the way, it’s beautiful!

Leave a Reply

