Aussie Author Challenge

Looking around on some blog sites, I came across another challenge that interested me: the Aussie Author Challenge (on Dominique’s blog). It is hosted by Booklovers.

I have decided to sign up under the Tourist level, which requires that I read three books by Aussie authors within the year. I’ve not read many books by Aussie authors–the only two I can name off the top of my head are Markus Zusak and Geraldine Brooks. And I liked their work, so I’ll probably read some more by them 🙂

Wish me luck!

6 thoughts on “Aussie Author Challenge

  1. Dominique says:

    Yay! 🙂 I felt I had to sign up to it, I would have felt unpatriotic to do the Canadian one and not sign up for this.

  2. Bina says:

    Hmmh, I have a Geraldine Brooks book on my shelf, didn´t know she was Australian. Thinking of signing up for this. . .

    • Dominique says:

      Other notable Australian authors include Tim Winton, Peter Carey(Oscar and Lucinda), John Marsden (The Tomorrow Series), Isobelle Carmody (Scifi/dystopian YA author), Bryce Courtenay (The Power of One), Richard Flanagan, Clive James and Colleen Mcullough (The Thorn Birds, The Independence of Miss Mary Bennet)… to name a few of the most popular.

  3. Thanks for joining me in my Aussie Author Challenge – look forward to sharing reviews!

  4. […] “Teaser Tuesday” comes from Carpentaria by Alexis Wright. I am reading this book for my Aussie Author Challenge. I started it only today and am only 12 pages into it. But the first sentences grabbed my […]

  5. […] Rating: 5/5 Reason for Reading: read Year of Wonders (also by Geraldine Brooks) a few years ago; Aussie Author Challenge Award(s): 2008 Australian Book of the Year Award; 2008 Literary Fiction Book of the Year Award […]

Leave a Reply

