Pride & Prejudice & Zombies by Seth Grahame-Smith and Jane Austen

Title: Pride and Prejudice and Zombies
Author: Seth Grahame-Smith and Jane Austen
Genre: science fiction/classic-spoof
Length: 317 pages
Purchased from Meijer, September 7, 2009
Rating: 4/5

Review from Booklist magazine (found on Amazon.com)

“This may be the most wacky by-product of the busy Jane Austen fan-fiction industry—at least among the spin-offs and pastiches that have made it into print. In what’s described as an “expanded edition” of Pride and Prejudice, 85 percent of the original text has been preserved but fused with  “ultraviolent zombie mayhem.” For more than 50 years, we learn, England has been overrun by zombies, prompting people like the Bennets to send their daughters away to China for training in the art of deadly combat, and prompting others, like Lady Catherine de Bourgh, to employ armies of ninjas…(spoiler removed)…Is nothing sacred? Well, no, and mash-ups using literary classics that are freely available on the Web may become a whole new genre. What’s next? Wuthering Heights and Werewolves?
–Mary Ellen Quinn”

I find this review very interesting. I cannot tell, by just reading it, if the reviewer is pleased or displeased with the book. Is the very last question or two sarcastic or not? (I hate how we can’t easily write “voice inflection” into words. Nevertheless, this Mary Ellen Quinn has summed up P&P&Z quite nicely. Plus, I have read quite a few classics and would love to see how some people make them into spoofs, as Mary Ellen Quinn mentions (about a new genre).

I thoroughly enjoyed this novel, although it took me a LONG time to finish it. It’s probably been near 2.5 months now. I think the main reason I didn’t get through it very quickly is because I’ve read P&P 3 times before and this just had the added zombies, so I basically knew what was going to happen. But I found some parts very humorous–for instance, Lady Catherine’s visit to Lizzie at Longbourn towards the end. I knew how it would be written, zombies and all, but it was still fun 🙂

There were illustrations throughout the book, but they were dated wrongly. The clothing was off by about 100 years. It bugged me, as some minor details often do (especially concerning JA). For example:

This picture is one of the first illustrations of the book. It reminds me more of a young adult Anne Shirley from the early 1900s, not at all similar to the Regency 1810s dress.

|

|

|

|

|

|

|

|

|

|

 

I really did love the book and, if you’re like me & love to read stuff about JA, this is a great read. It doesn’t ruin the story, I don’t think. It just adds a little “spice” to it 😀

And with an opening line like this, who can resist:

“It is a truth universally acknowledged that a zombie in
possession of brains must be in want of more brains.”

2 thoughts on “Pride & Prejudice & Zombies by Seth Grahame-Smith and Jane Austen

  1. Michelle says:

    Oh Meijer, how I miss you.

    Glad you enjoyed it. I still plan on reading it in the near future. But I had a hard enough time reading the original this time so I need a P&P break.

    • Kristie says:

      Are there Wal-Marts in the south? I know Meijer is up here because it’s based in Michigan, but what’s in Florida? It boggles me that there are different supermarkets for different parts of the US :oP

      Take all the time you need before you read it. It is not something that you MUST read before you die :o) But it’s funny lol

Leave a Reply

