Canadian Author Challenge

Mrs. Q: Book Addict is hosting her first challenge: the Canadian Authors Challenge 2010. I first heard about this challenge through Michelle’s blog. The challenge is this:

Canada is a culturally diverse country with two official languages and many ethnicities. Many of these influences are found in Canadian Literature. There are a number of notable writers and I thought this challenge would be interesting.

This challenge will run from January 1 2010 -December 31, 2010.

There will be four different commitment levels.

3 – Les Liseurs

5 – Challenge, Eh?

8 – Rideau Reader

10 – Bluenoser

When signing up please specify which reading level you plan to challenge yourself with. You do not have to be a book blogger to accept the challenge.

You do not need to specify a list when signing up, the goal is to find new books and authors to read.

I’m hosting this challenge, because it’s one I would want to join myself. I am Canadian and I’ve read a lot of great Canadian literature. I also have a lot of Canadian books on my shelves and I thought this would motivate me to get them read.

Last year, I read a few books by Canadian authors and loved them all! (The Birth House by Ami McKay, The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood, and the first couple Anne books by LM Montgomery)

So I have decided to join this challenge at Level 1 (3 books) and I already know some of the books I want to read:
The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood
The Virgin Cure by Ami McKay (not due for publication until Fall 2010)

If anyone has suggestions, please let me know! I’m very excited about this challenge.

3 thoughts on “Canadian Author Challenge

  1. Thanks for signing up!

    I’m very excited for Ami Mckay’s new book as well.

    Enjoy the new book blog.

  2. […] The View from Castle Rock by Alice Munro Filed under: uncategorized — Kristie @ 2:29 pm Title: The View from Castle Rock Author: Alice Munro Genre: fiction, short-story collection ISBN: 9781400042821 Pages: 349 Year Published: 2006 Source: public library Rating: 3/5 Reason for Reading: for RBC Discussion; Canadian Author Challenge […]

  3. […] Pages: 431 Year Published: 2009 Source: public library Rating: 5/5 Reason for Reading: Canadian Author Challenge; loved Atwood’s A Handmaid’s […]

Leave a Reply

