Paranormal Spoofs of Classic Novels: Yay or Nay?

As I’m sure many of you have realized, there is a growing genre out there in the literary world. I’m talking about the paranormal spoofs of classic novels, such as: Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, Android Karenina, Alice in Zombieland, Little Women and Werewolves, The Undead World of Oz, and Jane Slayre. My first question to you, avid readers, is this: What are your feelings towards the paranormal spoofs of classic novels?
And subsequent questions:

  • Do you think the spoofs are a disgrace to the literary world?
  • Do you think they tarnish the original classics? (Or even better…)
  • What do you think the authors would say about these changes to their works?
  • Do you like these spoofs, or at least the idea of them?
  • Do you think this is some inventive way to get younger kids to read classics (at least in part)?
  • Do you enjoy them as a new twist on some of your favorite novels?

Now, I personally have only read (of the ones I mentioned above) Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, but I own Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters. So I can only speak from the experience of reading one spoof.

I have to say that I honestly didn’t mind it. I had read Pride and Prejudice probably three times before I read Pride and Prejudice and Zombies. And, while I love P&P, it was nice to read a funny twist on it. Of course I didn’t take the book seriously in any way, because I knew it was just meant for fun. In that respect, I don’t feel that this particular book was a disgrace to the literary world–some books are not meant to be taken serious, and I think these spoofs are in that group of books. But it was a fun twist on one of my favorite books :)

I definitely think that the spoofs should not be read instead of the original classics. However, I also think that it might be a way to appeal to younger kids. If they read a spoof in their early teens, they might like it and read the classic later on.

I do know, however, that Jane Austen would roll over in her grave if she could see what was being done to her wonderful literature. Just because of the time in which she lived and the sorts of things she wrote, I can tell she would not like this kind of twist on her books. Now, L Frank Baum and Lewis Carroll may not feel the same way, as their classics were so out-there to begin with.

What do you guys think? Spread the word and see what your own reading friends say about it :D

4 thoughts on “Paranormal Spoofs of Classic Novels: Yay or Nay?

  1. I don’t think Jane Austen would roll over in her grave. If you could go back in time, tell her what year you are from, and that people are still reading and adoring her books to the point which they’re making these kinds of twists on her books, do you really think she would be upset by the news? I doubt it. Even Charlotte Bronte, who was less reluctant to accept any attention, would probably be impressed that she made a statement that endured to this point. After over a hundred years, to be relevant enough to be celebrated, adored, and spoofed? I don’t know any writers at any time who would actually hate that. Otherwise, I agree with you. But I’m biased.

    • Kristie says:

      When you put it that way, I guess I’d have to agree with you. I think they would be happy to know their books are still being read, admired, and even analyzed from every conceivable angle (at least I know Austen’s are–not sure if there’s societies devoted to Bronte like there are devoted to Austen). And while they might like that, even that they’re being spoofed, I don’t know if they would understand the paranormal aspect people have been adding to their work, even if we tried to explain it.

  2. Jinny says:

    I was under the impression all those spoofs are authored by one person, but they are actually all by different people? I never read any of them, but I never really thought anything negative (or positive) about them. I know they’re not serious books and are meant to be ‘just for fun’ kind of books. I don’t think they hurt the original classics, but like you said, they should not replace the originals at all!

  3. Michelle says:

    I think it’s one of the great creative uses of the public domain. Why not add monsters to classics? Not everyone has to love them.

Leave a Reply

